Using material components without a free hand


Rules Questions


Does casting a spell with a material component but not a somatic component require a free hand?

I am guessing that the answer is yes, as according to the pinned condition:

Quote:
A pinned creature can take verbal and mental actions, but cannot cast any spells that require a somatic or material component. A pinned character who attempts to cast a spell or use a spell-like ability must make a concentration check (DC 10 + grappler's CMB + spell level) or lose the spell.

This implies to me that it is not enough to simply have the material component on your person. Additional, the general rules on magic state that

Quote:
To cast a spell, you must be able to speak (if the spell has a verbal component), gesture (if it has a somatic component), and manipulate the material components or focus (if any)

Therefore, I believe that you can't cast a spell if your hands are full. However, I was curious if there is any rule that spells it out more clearly.

Liberty's Edge

I think that 'To cast a spell, you must be able to...manipulate the material components or focus' is clear enough. If your hands are full, then you can't manipulate the component.

That would also mean that those creatures with prehecile tails, tentacles, etc could also use that 'appendage' to satisfy that requirement.

RPG Superstar Season 9 Top 16

You have to hold your material components to expend them for a spell.


jmclaus: You need some way to "manipulate the material components", so some kind of prehensile limb must be open. The easiest way to avoid most issues with this is simply take Eschew Materials/False Focus[holy symbol tattoo] thus removing the material components from the equation.


Could you hold it between your teeth? Just how much "manipulation" is required anyway?


VRMH wrote:
Could you hold it between your teeth? Just how much "manipulation" is required anyway?

But how did it get into your teeth in no hands are free? And even if you could, that messes up verbal components...

Doesn't seem like a plan. Also, I'd rather not be chewing on "a ball of bat guano and sulfur"...

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Using material components without a free hand All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.