Dwarf Clerics and BAB


Rules Questions


I:m about to start playing a Dwarf Cleric in a game, and I the DM for the game is swearing up and down he saw a rules that says Dwarfs in particular can add their Cleric level to their BAB.

I've not been able to locate this as a fact in any of the books I have. Or the various SRD's.

Am I blind, is he right? Cause that would be awesome, for me.


You are not blind. There could be some trait, or feat, or item, or something thst adds level to BAB for a specific, narrow purpose. However I know of nothing close to something that simply adds level to BAB.

Liberty's Edge

Your GM is flat out wrong. There is no such rule in Pathfinder. Such a rule would be very unbalanced.


Gwiber wrote:

I:m about to start playing a Dwarf Cleric in a game, and I the DM for the game is swearing up and down he saw a rules that says Dwarfs in particular can add their Cleric level to their BAB.

I've not been able to locate this as a fact in any of the books I have. Or the various SRD's.

Am I blind, is he right? Cause that would be awesome, for me.

Your GM is straight up wrong.


In 3.5 the spell Divine Power treated your BAB as your character level.


For regular play, that's not a thing. If you show him that it's not true and he continues to insist that dwarves add their level to BAB, then that would make it true for your game.

Honestly, though I don't think there's anything that adds your whole level as a hit bonus on top of your regular BAB. Especially on a full caster.


That would make Dwarf Clerics a 7/4 BAB class with full 9th level spell casting.

There would be no reason for anybody in the campaign to play anything else but single class Clerics.


Saldiven wrote:

That would make Dwarf Clerics a 7/4 BAB class with full 9th level spell casting.

There would be no reason for anybody in the campaign to play anything else but single class Clerics.

There are some reasons... like Wizards. Clerics are still fairly skill-incapable compared to INT-based casters, Bards, Investigators, and other skill-based utility characters. But in terms of combat, you'd have Fighters completely beat. You wouldn't be tougher than a Barbarian, but there are more ways to become tough as a Cleric than there are to become a 9-level caster as a Barbarian. And plus, the BAB would be insane, not the mention the number of ways that Clerics can self-buff.


Gwiber wrote:
I:m about to start playing a Dwarf Cleric in a game, and I the DM for the game is swearing up and down he saw a rules that says Dwarfs in particular can ADD their Cleric level to their BAB.

There might be something that lets them use their cleric level INSTEAD of their BAB, but adding it? Adding it would mean a lvl 20 cleric would have a +35 BAB.

And just to make sure, we're not just talking about "to hit", we're talking about BAB.

That mean's he'd have 7 iterative attacks, & if he takes Power Attack he ends up with a -9 to attack (which is fine because he has +35 BAB) and +27 damage (assuming a 2 handed weapon) from 1 feat.
He'd also qualify for Improved Critical 3 levels before the fighter (along with many other feats).

Oh, and BAB improves your Combat Maneuver Defence, so don't think it's all offensive, it also makes him harder to take down.
That's a lot of goodies to give a character with 9th level casting (who can cast in Medium armour) ... just saying.


He would only have 4 attacks from BAB, not 7. Extra attacks from BAB don't stack up past 4 at BAB 16.


My Self wrote:
He would only have 4 attacks from BAB, not 7. Extra attacks from BAB don't stack up past 4 at BAB 16.

Yeah I believe you. Still 35 BAB on a cleric massively OP


Apparently he finally found what he meant.

Campaign setting, Pg.43
Holy Warrior (Ex): A cleric with this ability is proficient with her deity’s favored weapon. In addition, her base attack bonus as a cleric equals her cleric level, and her cleric Hit Die becomes a d10.

I can't tell if this is just a natural addition tot he class, or some kind of special power or Feat or what?

It's not quite as potent as Cleric Level + Cleric BAB, but its still somewhat ridiculous.


Gwiber wrote:

Apparently he finally found what he meant.

Campaign setting, Pg.43
Holy Warrior (Ex): A cleric with this ability is proficient with her deity’s favored weapon. In addition, her base attack bonus as a cleric equals her cleric level, and her cleric Hit Die becomes a d10.

I can't tell if this is just a natural addition tot he class, or some kind of special power or Feat or what?

It's not quite as potent as Cleric Level + Cleric BAB, but its still somewhat ridiculous.

Have your DM read the final paragraph on that page:

Quote:
Some clerics think of themselves more as holy warriors than as proselytizers or shepherds. For these clerics, the ability to fight trumps all other concerns. Taking the above ability requires a cleric to give up both of her domains, including her domain powers.

The Campaign Setting was written for 3.5 rules, not Pathfinder rules. Your DM can certainly include the variant class abilities listed in it, as PfRPG was designed to be backwards-compatible, but a cleric who gets the higher BAB and Hit Die gives up her domains. It's a trade-off, not a simple power-up.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Dwarf Clerics and BAB All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.