| SillyString |
Vaguely remember something about not being able to use enlarge person on a polymorphed player, (I might be wrong, is enlarge person a polymorph effect?), but I know the feral hunter's feral focus is a polymorph effect:
"This physical change is a polymorph effect, though the effects of the animal focus are not"
So my question: can i use enlarge person on myself if i'm using feral focus?
| SillyString |
Enlarge person is transmutation but not transmutation(polymorph), so you're good to go.Forgot:
CRB wrote:In addition, other spells that change your size have no effect on you while you are under the effects of a polymorph spell.
yes you can. And you'd also keep your cool little fluff changes too.
Which is it? I mean feral focus doesnt change your size or type (still humanoid) its effects are polymorph but cosmetic only... I JUST DONT KNOW! *sobs*
(if it helps the enlarge person effect is from the Living monolith prestige class feature: Soul Stone - Not sure if that makes any difference)
| Fuzzy-Wuzzy |
Since the effects are explicitly purely cosmetic, at my table it would work, and I have to think most GMs would rule the same way---unless they're in PFS and can't. So, are you doing this for PFS?
"Soul Stone" says "as if using enlarge person", so it should be the same as if you were using the spell.
| SillyString |
If you are using feral focus, you cannot be enlarged, as feral focus is a polymorph which prevents enlarge person. But if you are enlarged, and then use feral focus, you do not get the cosmetic changes, but you get the benefits of animal focus. Weird, but that's how it works.
Thank you, but damn, i wanted to keep my giant bull horns when i grew big.
Follow-up question: Can i use fiend totem rage power while enlarged? or is that a polymorph effect?
| Fuzzy-Wuzzy |
If you are using feral focus, you cannot be enlarged, as feral focus is a polymorph which prevents enlarge person. But if you are enlarged, and then use feral focus, you do not get the cosmetic changes, but you get the benefits of animal focus. Weird, but that's how it works.
I'm not sure the order matters. Enlarge person has no clause that says it prevents polymorph effects, so the cosmetic changes would take place, at which point you would be under a polymorph effect, so you would stop being subject to size-changing spells and the enlarge person would go away (or at least be suppressed for the duration).
Again, that's my reading of RAW, but not the way I'd actually run it. Though I do wonder why they bothered to say that the cosmetic changes are a polymorph effect. What purpose does it serve?
| SillyString |
Fiend totem is not a polymorph, so yes.
So my functional gore attack horns of death can stack with growing into a monster, but purely cosmetic fluff horns get the no-go. Nice going paizo.
Anyone else know an easy way of having horns? (preferably permanently, but stuff like fiend totem is ok too i guess...)
Dont say tiefling. *glares*
| Calth |
Calth wrote:If you are using feral focus, you cannot be enlarged, as feral focus is a polymorph which prevents enlarge person. But if you are enlarged, and then use feral focus, you do not get the cosmetic changes, but you get the benefits of animal focus. Weird, but that's how it works.I'm not sure the order matters. Enlarge person has no clause that says it prevents polymorph effects, so the cosmetic changes would take place, at which point you would be under a polymorph effect, so you would stop being subject to size-changing spells and the enlarge person would go away (or at least be suppressed for the duration).
Again, that's my reading of RAW, but not the way I'd actually run it. Though I do wonder why they bothered to say that the cosmetic changes are a polymorph effect. What purpose does it serve?
I was using the reject clause of the polymorph rules, but just extending it to any effect that doesn't work with polymorph : If a new polymorph spell is cast on you (or you activate a polymorph effect, such as wild shape), you can decide whether or not to allow it to affect you, taking the place of the old spell.
And yes, its a stupid rule in the first place.
Especially since you technically lose all racial (EX) and (SU) abilities while using it as well.