Double check: throwing oversized weapons?


Rules Questions

Scarab Sages

Oversized weapon rules apply normally to thrown weapons too, right?

Like a Large Club wielded by a medium creature, now being a two handed weapon, is going to require a full-round action to throw (two-handed throwing weapon rules) and will be at -2 on the attack roll (for being an oversized weapon), right?


No, you also take a -4 penalty from throwing a weapon that normally isn't thorwable. If the club is one size category larger it's a -2 penalty as well. Any larger and it's extra -2 per step larger. And remember that it only has a range increment of 10ft. Throwing it any longer will get you the normal overshoot penalty (-2 for each increment overstepped).

So a total of -6 and a full-round to throw a large, oversized club 10ft.

Scarab Sages

Rub-Eta wrote:

No, you also take a -4 penalty from throwing a weapon that normally isn't thorwable. If the club is one size category larger it's a -2 penalty as well. Any larger and it's extra -2 per step larger. And remember that it only has a range increment of 10ft. Throwing it any longer will get you the normal overshoot penalty (-2 for each increment overstepped).

So a total of -6 and a full-round to throw a large, oversized club 10ft.

Wait, why is the club normally not throw-able? It has a listed range (only 10ft). It remains my example weapon, no real attachment to it otherwise.

As mentioned, my example character is medium and the club is large, so one size oversized.


Oh, sorry, didn't see that 10ft increment. Since it is thorwable it's only a -2 as long as you throw it 10ft or less.


Murdock is correct, -2 for being oversized and full-round action.

Scarab Sages

Alright, thanks for the double check. Always nice to get a second pair of eyes on things.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Double check: throwing oversized weapons? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions