Rope dart clarification?


Rules Questions

Liberty's Edge

Hi,

Has there been any official clarification about the rope dart

http://www.d20pfsrd.com/equipment---final/weapons/eastern-weapons

from Paizo?

I know that there was an errata that said you could retrieve it as a free action. Has anything else happened?

In particular, why is it distracting and ranged when you can only feint with a melee weapon?

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks!


PRD wrote:

Feinting is a standard action. To feint, make a Bluff skill check. The DC of this check is equal to 10 + your opponent's base attack bonus + your opponent's Wisdom modifier. If your opponent is trained in Sense Motive, the DC is instead equal to 10 + your opponent's Sense Motive bonus, if higher. If successful, the next melee attack you make against the target does not allow him to use his Dexterity bonus to AC (if any). This attack must be made on or before your next turn.

When feinting against a nonhumanoid you take a –4 penalty. Against a creature of animal Intelligence (1 or 2), you take a –8 penalty. Against a creature lacking an Intelligence score, it's impossible. Feinting in combat does not provoke attacks of opportunity.

Feinting as a Move Action: With the Improved Feint feat, you can attempt a feint as a move action.

You don't need a melee weapon, or even any weapon, to feint. For the distracting weapon feature you simply just need to be wielding the rope dart in order to get the +2 bonus to bluff to feint.

Scarab Sages

You can take ranged feint now to gain the benefits of feinting on a ranged attack.

The bigger question is the confusing issue that the weapon has a 20' range increment and only a 12' rope.


Imbicatus wrote:


The bigger question is the confusing issue that the weapon has a 20' range increment and only a 12' rope.

The same way a gauntlet can hit someone 5' away or a scorpion whip grows 10' if you also know how to use a whip. ;)


graystone wrote:
Imbicatus wrote:


The bigger question is the confusing issue that the weapon has a 20' range increment and only a 12' rope.
The same way a gauntlet can hit someone 5' away or a scorpion whip grows 10' if you also know how to use a whip. ;)

But, it's a thrown weapon with 20' range increment. So apparently you can fling a 12' rope out to 100'. :v


Ashram wrote:
graystone wrote:
Imbicatus wrote:


The bigger question is the confusing issue that the weapon has a 20' range increment and only a 12' rope.
The same way a gauntlet can hit someone 5' away or a scorpion whip grows 10' if you also know how to use a whip. ;)
But, it's a thrown weapon with 20' range increment. So apparently you can fling a 12' rope out to 100'. :v

And? Are Aklys, Harpoons, Kyoketsu shoge and Grappling Hooks any different?

If you want to throw it farther than the rope [+5' for natural reach] you have you have to let go of said rope. I don't see what's confusing.

Dark Archive

graystone wrote:
Ashram wrote:
graystone wrote:
Imbicatus wrote:


The bigger question is the confusing issue that the weapon has a 20' range increment and only a 12' rope.
The same way a gauntlet can hit someone 5' away or a scorpion whip grows 10' if you also know how to use a whip. ;)
But, it's a thrown weapon with 20' range increment. So apparently you can fling a 12' rope out to 100'. :v

And? Are Aklys, Harpoons, Kyoketsu shoge and Grappling Hooks any different?

If you want to throw it farther than the rope [+5' for natural reach] you have you have to let go of said rope. I don't see what's confusing.

Even if you rule this way (RAW is still that the 20 is an increment, not a maximum), I'd say the Distance enchantment should allow the rope to stretch to 40'. How? Magic.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Psyren wrote:
graystone wrote:
Ashram wrote:
graystone wrote:
Imbicatus wrote:


The bigger question is the confusing issue that the weapon has a 20' range increment and only a 12' rope.
The same way a gauntlet can hit someone 5' away or a scorpion whip grows 10' if you also know how to use a whip. ;)
But, it's a thrown weapon with 20' range increment. So apparently you can fling a 12' rope out to 100'. :v

And? Are Aklys, Harpoons, Kyoketsu shoge and Grappling Hooks any different?

If you want to throw it farther than the rope [+5' for natural reach] you have you have to let go of said rope. I don't see what's confusing.

Even if you rule this way (RAW is still that the 20 is an increment, not a maximum), I'd say the Distance enchantment should allow the rope to stretch to 40'. How? Magic.

It's magic true, but it's a different magic. How/why does a magic meant to increase range have any affect on a rope you attach to it? Sounds like a different enchantment to me. Does Distance on a dagger increase it's reach to 10'? It makes as much sense as an increasing rope...

Liberty's Edge

With Ultimate Intrigue and ranged feint you could use this now...

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Rope dart clarification? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.