
Legioned |
I have a couple of questions about some things I am fuzzy on.
I want to play a neutral warpriest sacred fist who can fervor negative energy damage. What may I combine from below in what kind of action?
- Flurry of Blows
- Fervor touch attack
- A charged inflict light wounds spell touch attack
- Can I charge the inflict light wounds and have the spell go off when I actually hit with my initial flurry?
- Can I activate the fervor as part of that same flurry attack?
- *What about with Crusader's Fist?
- *Do Lay on Hands feats usually apply to Fervor?
- Can a 'touch' attack instead be resolved as a melee attack? As in as an unarmed strike?
- *Thus, if unable to make a flurry attack with the two above, could I have a charged fist with inflict light wounds and then make a fervor attack with the same fist and have both discharge?
Thanks in advance.

The Archive |

Holding the Charge: If you don't discharge the spell in the round when you cast the spell, you can hold the charge indefinitely. You can continue to make touch attacks round after round. If you touch anything or anyone while holding a charge, even unintentionally, the spell discharges. If you cast another spell, the touch spell dissipates. You can touch one friend as a standard action or up to six friends as a full-round action. Alternatively, you may make a normal unarmed attack (or an attack with a natural weapon) while holding a charge. In this case, you aren't considered armed and you provoke attacks of opportunity as normal for the attack. If your unarmed attack or natural weapon attack normally doesn't provoke attacks of opportunity, neither does this attack. If the attack hits, you deal normal damage for your unarmed attack or natural weapon and the spell discharges. If the attack misses, you are still holding the charge.
1. Yes.
2. No. Standard action to use Fervor against someone other than yourself.3. No. See 4. Though, it would work with LoH.
4. No. The class feature or feats would say if Fervor qualified. (Feel free to correct me if there's some clarification somewhere I've missed.)
5. Yes. See quote.
6. Yes... I think. By the rules, it doesn't seem like your touch spell would discharge because of the use of Fervor, as Fervor is a Supernatural ability. However, YMMV.

bbangerter |

Fervor touch attack is a standard action, so cannot be combined with flurry of blows. It could be used with a previously held charge of ILW, or any other previously held charge spell. Note that because Fervor is not a spell itself, it does not grant a held charge if your attack misses, the fervor use is simply lost.
If using fervor to make a warpriest spell quickened, then it works just like any other quickened spell and could be cast before, during or after any attack in a flurry of blows, but using it as a swift action means the warpriest must target himself with the spell, so it can't be used to harm an opponent in this fashion.
Fervor is not lay on hands, so feats for LoH do not apply, including Crusader's Fist.
A touch attack cannot be resolved as an unarmed strike if it is made as the free touch attack granted by casting a spell. A held charge may be delivered as part of a unarmed strike though on future attacks, but as noted above, Fervor is not a spell, and therefore does not grant a held charge.