overrun and charge


Rules Questions


When taking an Overrun action as part of a charge...
Does the overrun get the +2 bonus with the charge
And/or
Can you still make a normal attack with the charge, plus an overrun.


No. You get +2 to an attack or to Bullrush, because that's what the rules say. If you got a bonus to Overrun, it would say so.

Not normally but there's a feat for that. Charging is a full round action that includes an attack, Overrun is a standard action that is taken during a move or as part of a charge. Now, by a strict RAW interpretation, action economy precludes you from using Overrun during a charge (Full round action + Standard = too many actions), but it's pretty clear the intent was to allow an overrun in lieu of a melee attack during a charge. That's the ruling I would expect at most any table.


Ahh... ty much.
All cleared up now. :o)


Actually I'm not sure that is right, when looking at bull rush and overrun together, you overrun as well as charge attack.

Bull rush specifically calls out that it replaces the charge attack. Overrun does not include that language.


dragonhunterq wrote:

Actually I'm not sure that is right, when looking at bull rush and overrun together, you overrun as well as charge attack.

Bull rush specifically calls out that it replaces the charge attack. Overrun does not include that language.

Like I said, if you want to get really technically, you can't overrun as part of a charge anymore than you can cast a spell as part of a charge. The action economy precludes it.

Also, as a rule of thumb, is if theres a feat that lets you do something, you generally can't do it without the feat. There are exceptions, of course, but this isn't one of them.


If you fix overrun so it works, then you fix the action economy issue. There isn't a feat that lets you overrun the target of your charge, because that is what overrun is designed to do.

There is a feat that allows you to charge an otherwise illegal target and overrun intervening creatures, but that's not the same thing.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / overrun and charge All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions