Staff of Heaven and Earth usage - Sorcerer


Rules Questions

Archives of Nethys

Hi all,

I couldn't find a topic discussing staves with multiple spell classes. Maybe it's just obvious, maybe I didn't search well enough ;). This was found in an adventure path, so I thought that I would name it as the staff in case someone else has the same question.

Either way;

I have a level 15 sorcerer who just picked up a Staff of Heaven and Earth which can cast (And if they are wiz/sorc, or not):

Gust of wind - On sorc list
Stone shape - On sorc list
Air walk - Not on sorc list
Control winds - Not on sorc list
Spike stones - Not on sorc list

This is my understanding of how to cast these;
Gust of wind - Can cast using CHA for DC
Stone shape - Can cast using CHA for DC
Air walk - Use UMD to cast, using CHA for DC (Oracle)
Control winds - Use UMD to cast, using WIS for DC (Druid)
Spike stones - Use UMD to cast, using WIS for DC (Druid)

Is that correct?
Am I just able to cast all of them because I can cast one?
Do they use different stats, or do all use my CHA?

Cheers.


Gust of wind - On sorc list
Stone shape - On sorc list
Air walk - Not on sorc list
Control winds - Not on sorc list
Spike stones - Not on sorc list

This is my understanding of how to cast these;

Gust of wind - Can cast using CHA for DC
Stone shape - Can cast using CHA for DC
Air walk - Use UMD to cast, DC set like a wand - min caster level and ability score to cast (cleric)
Control winds - Use UMD to cast, DC set like a wand - min caster level and ability score to cast (druid)
Spike stones - Use UMD to cast, DC set like a wand - min caster level and ability score to cast (druid)

You can only use spell trigger items that have spells you *can't* cast by using UMD - at that point the staff would operate like a wand for you, and you wouldn't get the benefit of the staff.

You also can't use domain or alternate spell lists for a spell to get a favorable stat for DC reasons - when looking up the spell the order is:

If it lists wizard at all it's arcane

If it lists cleric at all and no wizard it's divine

Other lists can't be used unless both of the above are untrue.

Archives of Nethys

So, sorry to ask a question and then unequivocally disagree with the answer, but I did more reading, and this is a case of it being so clear that no one has asked the question before. :P

"Use a Wand, Staff, or Other Spell Trigger Item: Normally, to use a wand, you must have the wand's spell on your class spell list. This use of the skill allows you to use a wand as if you had a particular spell on your class spell list. Failing the roll does not expend a charge."

Source: Use Magic Device

So;
DC 20 UMD to treat a spell as "on your class spell list" for the purpose of Spell Trigger Items.


Doh - you are correct sorry about that - I stand by the 'use cleric and not oracle' thing though - there is a FAQ if you aren't aware that goes over all that with a hierarchy of which classes to use if it's a non wizard/cleric spell - but the long and short of it - is if it's on the wizard/cleric list and not on yours - use them first before you go hunting.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Staff of Heaven and Earth usage - Sorcerer All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions