Choke Up Polearm Trick


Rules Questions

Grand Lodge

In the Weapon Master's Handbook is the Weapon Trick feat that lets you select a weapon option and any trick within that option that you meet the qualifications for you can do. One of those tricks under the Polearm Tricks is Choke UP, which despite the sound of it, is not a feat designed to let you attack close up with a reach weapon, but instead wield it one handed.

Choke Up:
(Acrobatics 1 rank, Climb 1 rank): You can take a –2 penalty on attack rolls and damage rolls until the beginning of your next turn in order to choke up on and wield a two-handed polearm sized for you in one hand, as long as you do not make attacks with your other hand.

So, does this mean I can essentially continuously wield the weapon in one hand as long as I do not make attacks with my other hand and just take a -2 to all my attack rolls with no other penalty?

I have need of "Holding" an item in one hand to gain benefit from it but still want to wield my Naginata with Reach.


Seems like that's the gist of it. I would assume this is primarily to let you wield a polearm with a shield, or maybe fight if you're holding someone's hand, or let a polearm utilize slashing grace (though you'd need to somehow get it to be usable with weapon finesse if you do that).

Grand Lodge

Alternatively, get a polearm one size category smaller, and it becomes a one-handed weapon, with a -2 to hit, and a one-size-smaller damage die, for an average, usually, of only 1 point less damage. For Medium-to-Small, it definitely doesn't lose the 10' reach, since a Small charcater using it would have 10' reach... Small using Tiny might suffer table variation....

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Choke Up Polearm Trick All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions