vanara climbing question about their feet


Rules Questions


All vanaras have long, prehensile tails and hand-like feet capable of well-articulated movements.

You need both hands free to climb, but you may cling to a wall with one hand while you cast a spell or take some other action that requires only one hand.

My question is do Vanara count as having 4 hands when it comes to climbing. if so and I'm attacking someone while climbing could i use a 2 handed weapon to attack them.

Also if there is a rules person looking could they please put an FAQ in about different movement speeds and how they interact with charge.


Vanara are not treated as having 4 hands for anything. They can not use their feet as hands ("All vanaras have long, prehensile tails and handlike feet capable of well-articulated movements" are not rules texts, only fluff, "Prehensile Tail: A vanara has a long, flexible tail that she can use to carry objects. She cannot wield weapons with her tail, but the tail allows her to retrieve a small, stowed object carried on her person as a swift action" - this is rules text).

Since they need both hands free to climb, they can't charge while climbing, unless they can attack with something else that doesn't need a hand. However, even then it's really not a solid case: "You must have a clear path toward the opponent, and nothing can hinder your movement (such as difficult terrain or obstacles)" + "It cannot, however, use the run action while climbing." hints that you still can't.


Charge can be used with any movement type as long as they have a movement speed associated with the type of movement.


Need citation on that.
Still, you can't "run" while climbing, meaning that your movement is limited. To charge, your movement must not be hindered.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / vanara climbing question about their feet All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.