How do low caster levels affect spell-like abilities?


Rules Questions


How do spell-like abilities spells are affected when cast by a creature that has a caster level below the level the real spell requires?

E.g., Deeper Darkness (requires CL 5th+) casted by a Drow Noble with just one ranger class level (CL 1st).


You cast it at first level.

Spell-like abilities do not have a minimum caster level.


I know that part, but... how are they modified?

Doesn't it make it a lower version of the same spell?


cablop wrote:

I know that part, but... how are they modified?

Doesn't it make it a lower version of the same spell?

It wont change level or anything, the only change will be things dependant on caster level such as deeper darknesses duration.


Spell-like abilities are dependent on class levels only as written in each monster entry.

In your exemple, the Drow noble, the monster entry says that

][a wrote:
drow noble's caster level for her spell-like abilities is equal to her character level.

Because the Drow and Drow noble have no racial Hit Dices, it may be a little bit confusing.

Take the Quasit as another exemple: It has 3 hit dice, but cast each and everyone of its spell-like abilities at 6th caster level, even communion.

I hope it helps a little bit.


In regard to drows, i want to know if that could "lower" the level of darkness, so they can use it in combo with faerie fire, allowing faerie fire to bypass it.

I keep the question broader, anyway, cause the answer would shed light to more scenarios than drow tactics.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / How do low caster levels affect spell-like abilities? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions