Spell storing questions


Rules Questions


Hello! Can you, please, help me to answer some questions about spell storing effect?

1) Metamagic. Can I store empowered shocking grasp in it? And what about metamagic rods? Can I use them this way?
2) Class abilities. If the DC and caster level is mine, what about sorcerer's ability +1 damage per die rolled? Or other abilities (wizard evoker, for example).
3) Mythic spells. Can I store them in armor or weapon?
4) Spell perfection or magical lineage: can I use them to store a spell with total number of "virtual" levels highe, than 3d level?

And please, link a proof to the official rules if you can.

Thanks a lot!


1) You can store any targeted spell of up to 3rd level. Metamagic spells count as the adjusted level spell slot level for this purpose.

So yes you could use a metamagic rod, but the increase in effective spell level would still count against whether or not the spell could be stored. So you couldn't for instance place a quickened spell (+4 level)inside (though you wouldn't want to since activation is an immediate action (well supposed to be an immediate action) for armor or a free action for a weapon.

2) With spell storing armor you cast the spell into the armor or weapon, it's exactly as though you were casting the spell regularly. Which means yes, you get all the bonuses as though you had just cast the spell.

3) Mythic spells....it's unclear. By unclear I mean that there is supposed to be a relatively low limit to what you can place into spell storing armor and weapons. Mythic spells tend to break that. Is there a mythic version of spell storing? I dunno. Mythic rules are bad in the first place, so I guess this wouldn't break the game anymore than actually using mythic rules in the first place does.

4) No. While spell perfection and magical lineage reduce the spell slot you use to actually cast the spell, the don't reduce the effective spell level the spell has for the purposes of spell storing. And I'm basing that on this FAQ.


Great, thanks!


Starfinder Charter Superscriber
Claxon wrote:
4) No. While spell perfection and magical lineage reduce the spell slot you use to actually cast the spell, the don't reduce the effective spell level the spell has for the purposes of spell storing. And I'm basing that on this FAQ.

I don't see how that faq addresses this question. In fact based on my read of the faq it would work because those abilities from the line

Quote:
The spell counts as the level of the spell slot necessary to cast it.

Could you explain your reasoning a bit further on your answer?


Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Adventure, Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber
Lord Lupus the Grey wrote:
3) Mythic spells. Can I store them in armor or weapon?

The Mythic Spells Rules state that:

PRD wrote:
Mythic Spells in Magic Items: Mythic spells can't be crafted into magic items unless the item is an artifact (for example, you can't brew a potion of mythic cure light wounds).

While this does not explicitly cover the scenario you ask for, I believe that it does provide the RAI for handling the situation. Unless the weapon with the Spell Storing property is an artifact, it cannot store the mythic version of a spell.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
grudgekeyper wrote:
Claxon wrote:
4) No. While spell perfection and magical lineage reduce the spell slot you use to actually cast the spell, the don't reduce the effective spell level the spell has for the purposes of spell storing. And I'm basing that on this FAQ.

I don't see how that faq addresses this question. In fact based on my read of the faq it would work because those abilities from the line

Quote:
The spell counts as the level of the spell slot necessary to cast it.
Could you explain your reasoning a bit further on your answer?

Probably this line: "In general, use the (normal, lower) spell level or the (higher) spell slot level, whichever is more of a disadvantage for the caster."


One more question: what about scorching ray? Is it 3 rays in one hit (spell storing weapon), or only one?


Slithery D wrote:
grudgekeyper wrote:
Claxon wrote:
4) No. While spell perfection and magical lineage reduce the spell slot you use to actually cast the spell, the don't reduce the effective spell level the spell has for the purposes of spell storing. And I'm basing that on this FAQ.

I don't see how that faq addresses this question. In fact based on my read of the faq it would work because those abilities from the line

Quote:
The spell counts as the level of the spell slot necessary to cast it.
Could you explain your reasoning a bit further on your answer?

Probably this line: "In general, use the (normal, lower) spell level or the (higher) spell slot level, whichever is more of a disadvantage for the caster."

Yes, that would be my reasoning. The FAQ sets a precedent of "do whatever is worse for the caster".

Lord Lupus the Grey wrote:
One more question: what about scorching ray? Is it 3 rays in one hit (spell storing weapon), or only one?

Not completely clear. I would probably run it as 3 separate rays that must all target the same target (all 3 would automatically hit I think, but each would have to deal with energy resistance separately).


Lord Lupus the Grey wrote:
One more question: what about scorching ray? Is it 3 rays in one hit (spell storing weapon), or only one?

When a magus does this, they only get one ray. I would rule the same for a spell storing weapon.


A base magus can't even use scorching ray with spell strike, and the only way he can (Close Range Arcana) is what specifies he looses the additional rays. Without something like that relating more specifically to Spell Storing I believe you are making to big of a leap.

The rules of the magus, spell strike, and close range arcana don't really have anything to do with how Spell Storing functions.


Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Adventure, Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

I would not use the Magus (or any other classes) class feature or options as a guideline to interpret how a magic item works, unless the magic item specifically calls out the class or class feature.


I would still avoid allowing something that normally requires multiple to-hit rolls to trigger with one to-hit roll. It's part of the balance of the spell.


Starfinder Charter Superscriber
Claxon wrote:
Slithery D wrote:
grudgekeyper wrote:
Claxon wrote:
4) No. While spell perfection and magical lineage reduce the spell slot you use to actually cast the spell, the don't reduce the effective spell level the spell has for the purposes of spell storing. And I'm basing that on this FAQ.

I don't see how that faq addresses this question. In fact based on my read of the faq it would work because those abilities from the line

Quote:
The spell counts as the level of the spell slot necessary to cast it.
Could you explain your reasoning a bit further on your answer?

Probably this line: "In general, use the (normal, lower) spell level or the (higher) spell slot level, whichever is more of a disadvantage for the caster."

Yes, that would be my reasoning. The FAQ sets a precedent of "do whatever is worse for the caster".

By my reading magical lineage, spell perfection (and metamagic rods "In this case, only the feats possessed by the wielder adjust the spell slot of the spell being cast") are applying metamagics without increasing the spell slot level and none of them affect the normal spell level so it would seem that the FAQ does not apply to the effects as written.

As intent I could see magical lineage making sense; But I don't think intent would allow for an effective 11th level spell (linage/regional traits reducing to perfections cap) being spell stored... Even if I did want Maximize Empowered Dazing Vampiric Touch in my spell storing weapons

Now I would like to be wrong about the RAW but my reading of the FAQ and relevant abilities don't seem to indicate such.

Liberty's Edge

Lord Lupus the Grey wrote:

Hello! Can you, please, help me to answer some questions about spell storing effect?

1) Metamagic. Can I store empowered shocking grasp in it? And what about metamagic rods? Can I use them this way?
2) Class abilities. If the DC and caster level is mine, what about sorcerer's ability +1 damage per die rolled? Or other abilities (wizard evoker, for example).
3) Mythic spells. Can I store them in armor or weapon?
4) Spell perfection or magical lineage: can I use them to store a spell with total number of "virtual" levels highe, than 3d level?

And please, link a proof to the official rules if you can.

Thanks a lot!

We are speaking or spell storing weapons and armors, yes?

PRD wrote:
Spell Storing: A spell storing weapon allows a spellcaster to store a single targeted spell of up to 3rd level in the weapon. (The spell must have a casting time of 1 standard action.) Anytime the weapon strikes a creature and the creature takes damage from it, the weapon can immediately cast the spell on that creature as a free action if the wielder desires. (This special ability is an exception to the general rule that casting a spell from an item takes at least as long as casting that spell normally.) Once the spell has been cast from the weapon, a spellcaster can cast any other targeted spell of up to 3rd level into it. The weapon magically imparts to the wielder the name of the spell currently stored within it. A randomly rolled spell storing weapon has a 50% chance to have a spell stored in it already.

The weapon, not the character.

PRD wrote:

Spell Storing

Price +1 bonus; Aura strong evocation; CL 12th; Weight —

This armor allows a spellcaster to store a single touch spell of up to 3rd level in it. Anytime a creature hits the wearer with a melee attack or melee touch attack, the armor can cast the spell on that creature as a swift action if the wearer desires. Once the spell has been cast from the armor, a spellcaster can cast any other targeted touch spell of up to 3rd level into it. The armor magically imparts to the wielder the name of the spell currently stored within it. A randomly rolled suit of spell storing armor has a 50% chance to have a spell stored in it already. Spell storing armor emits a strong aura of the evocation school, plus the aura of the stored spell.

The armor, not the character.

1) Metamagic. Can I store empowered shocking grasp in it?

Yes, as Claxon said the metamagic modifies the spell level, so you need to take into account the modified spell level.

And what about metamagic rods? Can I use them this way?

No. the rod effect is applied when the spell is cast. If you store it the rod effect isn't applied when the spell is cast out of the armor.

PRD wrote:
Metamagic rods hold the essence of a metamagic feat, allowing the user to apply metamagic effects to spells (but not spell-like abilities) as they are cast.

You can't apply metamagic rods to spell cast by items.

2) Class abilities. If the DC and caster level is mine, what about sorcerer's ability +1 damage per die rolled? Or other abilities (wizard evoker, for example).

You aren't the caster, the armor or weapon is the caster. You apply the armor/weapon abilities and if they aren't intelligent items you apply the minimum value needed to cast the spell.

4) Spell perfection or magical lineage: can I use them to store a spell with total number of "virtual" levels higher, than 3d level?

You aren't the caster, whatever ability you have that change spell levels don't apply to the armor. You put the spell in at whatever level you have memorized it but then your abilities don't apply to it anymore and it "expands2 to the appropriate level.


Starfinder Charter Superscriber
Diego Rossi wrote:

And what about metamagic rods? Can I use them this way?

No. the rod effect is applied when the spell is cast. If you store it the rod effect isn't applied when the spell is cast out of the armor.

PRD wrote:
Spell Storing: A spell storing weapon allows a spellcaster to store a single targeted spell of up to 3rd level in the weapon. (The spell must have a casting time of 1 standard action.) Anytime the weapon strikes a creature and the creature takes damage from it, the weapon can immediately cast the spell on that creature as a free action if the wielder desires. (This special ability is an exception to the general rule that casting a spell from an item takes at least as long as casting that spell normally.) Once the spell has been cast from the weapon, a spellcaster can cast any other targeted spell of up to 3rd level into it. The weapon magically imparts to the wielder the name of the spell currently stored within it. A randomly rolled spell storing weapon has a 50% chance to have a spell stored in it already.

Based on how the spell storing armor/weapon is charged I would rule that a metamagic rod can be used by the spellcaster casting the spell into the armor/weapon

Diego Rossi wrote:

[i]4) Spell perfection or magical lineage: can I use them to store a spell with total number of "virtual" levels higher, than 3d level?

You aren't the caster, whatever ability you have that change spell levels don't apply to the armor. You put the spell in at whatever level you have memorized it but then your abilities don't apply to it anymore and it "expands2 to the appropriate level.

I can understand the reasoning but I can find no rules to support it. Could you indicate where that is in the rules.


If I am not the caster - what is the caster level? Caster level of armor? Or weapon? So, it can be higher, than mine?
Or, maybe, if the armor casts a spell, I need to recalculate my DC for spells according to the armor's intelligence?

Armor can not cast a spell. I need to cast a spell in it to store, and than it casts it. So, the spell transforms in the armor, becoming more weak or strong?


2 people marked this as a favorite.

Whoever casts the spell into the spell storing equipment is the caster of the spell. It's exactly as strong as if the caster themselves cast the spell.

If you can somehow get a spell to be cast without a caster involved at all, I would be very impressed.

Liberty's Edge

@ Lupus
Based on the Ring of spell storing RAI probably is minimum caster level.
As that is not spelled out, RAW is the level of the character that put the spell in the armor.

Yes, you need to recalculate the DC. It work as with any other spell cast by magic items. The armor cast the spell, so you use the minimum characteristic value that would allow someone to cast that spell, i.e. 10+spell level.

@CampinCarl9127

As I bolded, the ability say "the armor [or weapon] can cast the spell". Not you. Not the original caster.
It work as any other magic item casting a spell.

@grudgekeyper
The rod allow you to add the metamagic to the spell when it is cast.
So you cast the spell in the armor. But then the effect of the rod end. It don't persist when the spell is cast again. The armor cast a new spell, not the one on which you used the rod.


I can understand how you reached that conclusion based on the wording of the ability, but I disagree with your interpretation. I would rule it that the spell variables work from the caster stats.


Oh man, I totally misunderstood that title... I was thinking about storing a spell in some kind of choker or tongue piercing and, when I ask someone a question, the spell would come out of my mouth.

"Excuse me sir, do you happen to know the way to the nearest townSCORCHINGRAYINYOFACE!!!"


Starfinder Charter Superscriber
Diego Rossi wrote:

@grudgekeyper

The rod allow you to add the metamagic to the spell when it is cast.
So you cast the spell in the armor. But then the effect of the rod end. It don't persist when the spell is cast again. The armor cast a new spell, not the one on which you used the rod.

Based on my read of how metamagic rods work they are an instantaneous effect that changes the spell. However being instantaneous doesn't mean that the spell loses the metamagic immediately after being cast.

prd wrote:

This armor allows a spellcaster to store a single touch spell of

up to 3rd level in it. Anytime a creature hits the wearer with
a melee attack or melee touch attack, the armor can cast the
spell
on that creature as a swift action if the wearer desires.

And from my read of spell storing the armor is casting THE spell that was cast into it which to me would indicate a duplicate of the original spell (except with a new DC as indicted by the saving throws against magic item powers in the Core book pg 459, and using the caster level of the armor pg 460). I don't see anything that would indicated it cares if the spellcaster cast empowered shocking grasp from a 3rd level prepared slot of by using a 1st level slot and a rod of empower.

By the way anyone else think that spell storing is ridiculously cheap given that it allows a 5th level wizard to store a CL12 3rd level spell?

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Spell storing questions All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions