| alexd1976 |
"Benefit: You can maintain concentration on one spell of the illusion school as a swift action. This has no effect on spells of other schools or on illusion spells with durations that don’t depend on your active concentration. While you may only maintain one spell as a swift action, you may take your move and standard actions to maintain other spells normally, if you wish."
I would say it has no effect on other spells, so yes you can keep casting other stuff.
| Cleru |
Concentration: The spell lasts as long as you concentrate on it. Concentrating to maintain a spell is a standard action that does not provoke attacks of opportunity. Anything that could break your concentration when casting a spell can also break your concentration while you're maintaining one, causing the spell to end. See concentration.
You can't cast a spell while concentrating on another one. Some spells last for a short time after you cease concentrating.
I don't thinks Effortless Trickery change this rule.
| alexd1976 |
PRD Wrote wrote:I don't thinks Effortless Trickery change this rule.Concentration: The spell lasts as long as you concentrate on it. Concentrating to maintain a spell is a standard action that does not provoke attacks of opportunity. Anything that could break your concentration when casting a spell can also break your concentration while you're maintaining one, causing the spell to end. See concentration.
You can't cast a spell while concentrating on another one. Some spells last for a short time after you cease concentrating.
Right.
So the feat actually does basically nothing for casters. Now I remember why I put it on my list of "Do not ever take for any reason".
The intention was likely to allow extra casting, but as you point out, it never states this.
Sad. A feat that requires casting to to use, but doesn't help casters.
| dragonhunterq |
It depends on the build and equipment, but not entirely useless.
Things you can still do with a standard action free:
double move
attack (everyone loves gish, and gish can get some use out of this)
activate a magic item/drink a potion
activate a class ability/spell-like or supernatural ability.
Go total defence
use a skill that takes a full round or standard action
I think you can cast from a scroll.
etc.
never going to be a powerhouse, but it opens up some subtle ways to increase your options if you use concentration spells often.
| alexd1976 |
It depends on the build and equipment, but not entirely useless.
Things you can still do with a standard action free:
double move
attack (everyone loves gish, and gish can get some use out of this)
activate a magic item/drink a potion
activate a class ability/spell-like or supernatural ability.
Go total defence
use a skill that takes a full round or standard action
I think you can cast from a scroll.etc.
never going to be a powerhouse, but it opens up some subtle ways to increase your options if you use concentration spells often.
Concentration ILLUSION school spells...
I suspect it was intended to allow you to cast despite concentrating on an existing spell...
| Taku Ooka Nin |
Benefit: You can maintain concentration on one spell of the illusion school as a swift action. This has no effect on spells of other schools or on illusion spells with durations that don’t depend on your active concentration. While you may only maintain one spell as a swift action, you may take your move and standard actions to maintain other spells normally, if you wish.I have a feeling that this intended to allow gnomes to cast and maintain spells regardless of the rule on concentration and casting spells:
You can't cast a spell while concentrating on another one. Some spells last for a short time after you cease concentrating.
The thing here is that it is kind of ambiguous that doesn't specifically tell us what the rules are. The kicker is that it says you can maintain other spells normally. As the Concentration rules are written, it would be impossible to maintain a different spell without casting it.
/shrug.