Does the damage a confused target deal to itself get modified by the size of the target?


Rules Questions


Confusion

Like the title says. Would a large target deal 2d6 damage to itself? Would a tiny target only deal 1d4? This matters for a game I'll be playing in, hence why I'm wondering.

Silver Crusade Contributor

Nope. If it doesn't say it's modified by size, then it isn't.

It's an excellent idea for a houserule, though - I suggest talking to your GM and seeing if you can convince them to allow it. ^_^


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Yeah, it just seems like it should adjust for size.

I'll have to talk to my DM about. Thanks.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

It's not even modified by the weapon. Dagger or Greatsword, the damage is the same.


The real power comes from just having them do nothing. Face rending themselves is a great plus.

I do agree that it's a more than fine house rule. It's sensical.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

I think the 1d8 was just to simply things, rather than having to deal with all of the possibilities and then all of the possibilities that didn't make sense.

For example, if it was deal damage with the weapon in hand, then you also have to deal with what if they have two weapons, what if they have a bow, what if their weapon has reach etc. Making it just a flat number makes those questions irrelevant.

Alternate versions as a house rule wouldn't really be a huge problem though. That said, it is unlikely that it will ever make much of a difference. Unless the damage difference between the two rolls would have been enough to actually put down someone at some point during the fight, it doesn't really matter if they did 5 or 7 points to themselves. Having house rules for size probably slows things down more than it is worth in almost all cases, so a good argument can be made for just leaving it alone.


I like to think of it more as punching or smacking yourself in the head to try to clear your mind

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Does the damage a confused target deal to itself get modified by the size of the target? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions