PFS Arcane Bond Upgrade


Advice

Scarab Sages

HI, not sure if this was adressed earlier, but I was unable to find a clear ruling on this situation. and to be clear i Need it for PFS.

Lets say a rogue takes Eldritch Heritage (Arcane) and selects Arcane Bond. He gets a almost useless Arcane Bond of his choice. Later upon reaching lvl 10 he decides to upgrade it.

For upgrading an arcane Bond i Found this in FAQ:

Can an Arcane Bonded Item be upgraded?
A character with the arcane bond class feature may create a bond with any item he owns, either magical or mundane, as long as the item falls within the categories permitted by the arcane bond ability (the cost for bonding with a new item still applies). If a caster later wishes to upgrade an existing bonded item, he may do so for the cost (not price) of the final item as listed in the item's statblock.

For items which can be enhanced incrementally (such as weapons or a ring of protection), the caster must meet all prerequisites for the item as outlined in the item crafting rules. For example, a nonmagical bonded dagger can be enchanted to a +1 dagger for 1,000 gp instead of the normal 2,000 gp, but the caster must be at least 5th level (a prerequisite for the Craft Magic Arms and Armor feat). To upgrade the item further to a +2 dagger, the caster must have a caster level of 6 or higher (three times the item's enhancement bonus).

A bonded item that is enhanced must still conform to all the campaign rules for access to and upgrading of magical items. The final and total price of the item (not the cost) is used on the Fame chart to determine whether a caster can apply such an enhancement to a bonded item.

SO following the rules in Core i need:
1) Caster Level minimal to gain the feats
2) Caster Level minimal to satisfy Weapon/Armor/Enhancement Boni
3) be able to cast the Spells needed for the item
4) Have enough Fame for the final price

The question now is can i satisfy 1) and 2) Using Use Magic Device to emulate class feature (CL) or can i Use the Feat Eldritch Heritage (saying i count as Charlvl -2 for purposes of the Bloodline Ability).

And do I need to provide the spells needed for the item in form of scrolls or could i use say my lvl 1 SLA from Major Magic or some other item that lets me cast the spells needed.

I am also unsure of part 3) which makes certain upgrades impossible for certain classes (Ring of freedom of movement for Wiz/Sorc as example).


Arcane Bond wrote:
A wizard can add additional magic abilities to his bonded object as if he has the required Item Creation Feats and if he meets the level prerequisites of the feat.

First of all, 3) can be bypassed with a +5 to the spellcraft DC (as per the Magic Item Creation rules).

Normally, the caster level requirement can be bypassed with a +5 to the DC when creating magic items. But this is not the case for the caster level requirement of Craft Construct and Craft Magic Arms and Armor.

The requirement of a caster level of 3 times the enhancement bonus is a must for Magic Arms and Armor. You can still bypass the caster level requirement of specific enhancements, though.

A +1, Flaming Longsword would have an requirement of either caster level 3 (can't be bypassed) or CL 10 from Flaming. (can be bypassed, but the requirement of CL 3 from the original +1 enhancement is still in effect.)

*****

1) can't be circumvented. You need real caster level to take the feats, and you can't use UMD the emulate it. It isn't a "Class Feature", per se. You wouldn't use UMD the emulate +20 BAB, now would you?

If it isn't in the description of what UMD can do, then it can't.

*****

If you don't have a caster level, then Arcane Bond won't help you at all if you don't have the Master Craftsman feat. This would be putting the cart before the horse since I believe you are trying to get access to item creation in a PFS legal way.

*****

And you can provide the spell in form of scrolls, a NPC caster, an ally or SLA's. See Requirements.

*****

TL;DR

No. UMD won't help you.

No. You don't need scrolls. You can use SLA's if you want to.

If you don't have atleast caster level 3, then Arcane Bond won't be of benefit to you at all.

Scarab Sages

So I need to gain a different caster Level then the one i can use from Eldritch Heritage or Major Magic ? THe only way to bypass that would be Master Craftsman which emulates a CL ....

But having a Caster Level is a class feature in my eyes since you explicitly advance in caster level per class features and prestige classes either grant caster level increase per class feature or they dont ... so why shouldnt they be class features ?

OK so its technically possible for a rogue to upgrade an arcane bon

get Eldritch Heritage, Master Craftsman and access to Fame and a Caster who knows the spells. Are you sure that an ally (other PLayer) suffices as a source to upgrade in PFS ?


Eben E'Zer wrote:


So I need to gain a different caster Level then the one i can use from Eldritch Heritage or Major Magic ? THe only way to bypass that would be Master Craftsman which emulates a CL ....

But having a Caster Level is a class feature in my eyes since you explicitly advance in caster level per class features and prestige classes either grant caster level increase per class feature or they dont ... so why shouldnt they be class features ?

OK so its technically possible for a rogue to upgrade an arcane bon

get Eldritch Heritage, Master Craftsman and access to Fame and a Caster who knows the spells. Are you sure that an ally (other PLayer) suffices as a source to upgrade in PFS ?

You don't get any CL from Eldritch Heritage or Major Magic. They grant SLA's, which don't function as a pre-requisite for the Craft feats.

Without a Caster Level of atleast 3, you can't upgrade the Arcane Bond.

*****

And about that last question, if you follow the link "see requirements" you can read about it. I linked them as proof of my statements.

*****

Really, just take the Master Craftsman feat instead of taking Skill Focus->Eldritch Heritage->Master Craftsman


Wonderstell has been telling you some really incorrect advice. This is for PFS yes? if so you have to follow their rules, and that means taht Master Craftsman is illegal.

Here's from the PFS FAQ.

faq wrote:

Can an Arcane Bonded Item be upgraded?

A character with the arcane bond class feature may create a bond with any item he owns, either magical or mundane, as long as the item falls within the categories permitted by the arcane bond ability (the cost for bonding with a new item still applies). If a caster later wishes to upgrade an existing bonded item, he may do so for the cost (not price) of the final item as listed in the item's statblock.

For items which can be enhanced incrementally (such as weapons or a ring of protection), the caster must meet all prerequisites for the item as outlined in the item crafting rules. For example, a nonmagical bonded dagger can be enchanted to a +1 dagger for 1,000 gp instead of the normal 2,000 gp, but the caster must be at least 5th level (a prerequisite for the Craft Magic Arms and Armor feat). To upgrade the item further to a +2 dagger, the caster must have a caster level of 6 or higher (three times the item's enhancement bonus).

A bonded item that is enhanced must still conform to all the campaign rules for access to and upgrading of magical items. The final and total price of the item (not the cost) is used on the Fame chart to determine whether a caster can apply such an enhancement to a bonded item.

So I'm not sure if you need to meet the caster level or can use the accepted +5 for not meeting the caster level.

Scarab Sages

Why is Master Craftsman in PFS illegal? Its not flagged as Item Creation feat (though common sense dictates) and i have found no reference that its not legal. Could you please cite me the reference to that so i may show my players.


Eben E'Zer wrote:
Why is Master Craftsman in PFS illegal? Its not flagged as Item Creation feat (though common sense dictates) and i have found no reference that its not legal. Could you please cite me the reference to that so i may show my players.

That's not how Additional Resources work. Players must positively demonstrate the legality to the GM. But, if you want to be nice and do it for them ahead of time, look up the source for Master Craftsman, then look up that source in additional resources, THEN ask if you're still in doubt.


Chess Pwn wrote:

Wonderstell has been telling you some really incorrect advice. This is for PFS yes? if so you have to follow their rules, and that means taht Master Craftsman is illegal.

Here's from the PFS FAQ.

faq wrote:
Omitted
So I'm not sure if you need to meet the caster level or can use the accepted +5 for not meeting the caster level.

Huh, I thought I already posted my reply to Chess. But I guess it didn't register.

I wrote:
If you don't have a caster level, then Arcane Bond won't help you at all if you don't have the Master Craftsman feat. This would be putting the cart before the horse since I believe you are trying to get access to item creation in a PFS legal way.

Implying that Master Craftsman isn't legal for play. I am well aware that magic item creation feats aren't legal, and I supposed OP did as well. Why else would he want to get Arcane Bond as a Rogue?

Edit: Oh, and the Rogue must first meet the caster level prerequisites for the crafting feat itself before he can add abilities to his bonded item.

Pathfinder SRD wrote:

A wizard can add additional magic abilities to his bonded object as if he has the required Item Creation Feats and if he meets the level prerequisites of the feat. For example, a wizard with a bonded dagger must be at least 5th level to add magic abilities to the dagger (see Craft Magic Arms and Armor feat).

If this Rogue is desperate for an Arcane Bond he should dip one level into Wizard and pick the trait Magical Knack for

a +2 to CL. (He must be atleast character level 3 before he can start adding abilities to his bonded item.) This would however only work for an Arcane Bond which is an amulet.


Eldritch heritage: For purposes of using that power, treat your sorcerer level as equal to your character level – 2.

Arcane Bond: A [Sorcerer] can add additional magic abilities to his bonded object as if he has the required Item Creation Feats and if he meets the level prerequisites of the feat.

1) Enchanting the item is part of the Arcane Bond ability (both intuitively and by organization).
2) The character has the Arcane Bond ability.
3) The character has a Sorcerer level for the purposes of using the Arcane Bond ability.
4) A 5th level sorcerer with same ability could indisputably enchant a dagger.
5) Here's the beef: The actual definition of "caster level", from the Magic Chapter, does not prevent this from working.

I still don't know if you're allowed the +5 DC bypass, or if you can have other characters deliver the required spells.


Okay, I'm going to try and make this clear.

Bob is a first level character.
Bob is a level 1 Wizard.
Bob has an amulet as his Arcane Bond.

Bob has found a great treasure, and wants to add additional abilities to his bonded amulet. He can't.

Pathfinder SRD wrote:
A wizard can add additional magic abilities to his bonded object as if he has the required Item Creation Feats and if he meets the level prerequisites of the feat. For example, a wizard with a bonded dagger must be at least 5th level to add magic abilities to the dagger (see Craft Magic Arms and Armor feat).

Bob needs to fulfill the prerequisite of Craft Wondrous Items first, so he needs caster level 3. He doesn't have caster level 3, so he can't add any abilities.

Bob can't bypass this requirement of a caster level of atleast 3 by adding a +5 to the Spellcraft DC, since he doesn't actually have the ability to use the Craft Wondrous Item feat on his Arcane Bond yet.

*****

Jack is a pure Rogue.
Jack has taken the feat Eldritch Heritage to get an Arcane Bond through the Arcane Bloodline.
Jack has a scimitar as his Arcane Bond.

Jack has found a great treasure, and wants to add additonal abilities to his bonded scimitar. He can't.

Jack needs to fulfill the prerequisite of Craft Magic Arms and Armor first, so he needs caster level 5. He doesn't have caster level 5, so he can't add any abilities.

Jack can't bypass this requirement of a caster level of atleast 5 by adding a +5 to the Spellcraft DC, since he doesn't actually have the ability to use the Craft Magic Arms and Armor feat on his Arcane Bond yet.

*****

Sorry if this came out as condescending.

Scarab Sages

Thats the whole Point @casual Viking

THe feat is in the Core rule Book, there is no entry in additional ressources bout anything in the core rule book. PFS Guide states that the Intem Creation feats and the Item creation rules form the core rule book are not allowed. SO technically master craftsman is legal to take.

FAQ states that normal crafting rules (except having the feats for crafting need to be met) .. this somehow contratidcts itself but none the less taking master craftsman should be legal .. so im asking where is the citation that its not


Eben E'Zer wrote:

Thats the whole Point @casual Viking

THe feat is in the Core rule Book, there is no entry in additional ressources bout anything in the core rule book. PFS Guide states that the Intem Creation feats and the Item creation rules form the core rule book are not allowed. SO technically master craftsman is legal to take.

FAQ states that normal crafting rules (except having the feats for crafting need to be met) .. this somehow contratidcts itself but none the less taking master craftsman should be legal .. so im asking where is the citation that its not

Oh, I didn't know it was in the Core Rulebook. Because it's a terrible feat. Seems legit. Although, as I wrote earlier in the thread, your virtual sorcerer level from EH qualifies as a caster level for the very specific purpose of enchanting your AB.


Casual Viking wrote:
Eben E'Zer wrote:
Omitted
Oh, I didn't know it was in the Core Rulebook. Because it's a terrible feat. Seems legit. Although, as I wrote earlier in the thread, your virtual sorcerer level from EH qualifies as a caster level for the very specific purpose of enchanting your AB.

Could you provide a source for that statement?

As I read it, the only thing about AB which scales with Wizard level is the cost of replacing your bond if it is lost or destroyed. The ability to add abilities to your AC is dependant on your CASTER level, not WIZARD level.

Arcane Bond wrote:
A wizard can add additional magic abilities to his bonded object as if he has the required Item Creation Feats and if he meets the level prerequisites of the feat. For example, a wizard with a bonded dagger must be at least 5th level to add magic abilities to the dagger (see Craft Magic Arms and Armor feat).

Craft Magic Arms and Armor (Item Creation):
You can create magic armor, shields, and weapons.

Prerequisite: Caster level 5th.

Benefit: You can create magic weapons, armor, or shields. Enhancing a weapon, suit of armor, or shield takes 1 day for each 1,000 gp in the price of its magical features. To enhance a weapon, suit of armor, or shield, you must use up raw materials costing half of this total price.

The weapon, armor, or shield to be enhanced must be a masterwork item that you provide. Its cost is not included in the above cost.

You can also mend a broken magic weapon, suit of armor, or shield if it is one that you could make. Doing so costs half the raw materials and half the time it would take to craft that item in the first place.

See magic item creation rules for more information.

The reason as to why someone would think it is dependant on Wizard level is because of this one sentence.

Arcane Bond wrote:
A wizard can add additional magic abilities to his bonded object as if he has the required Item Creation Feats and if he meets the level prerequisites of the feat. For example, a wizard with a bonded dagger must be at least 5th level to add magic abilities to the dagger (see Craft Magic Arms and Armor feat).

But that simply means that the wizard must be at least 5th character level since that is the lowest possible level the wizard could have and still have caster level 5.


Wonderstell wrote:
Casual Viking wrote:
Although, as I wrote earlier in the thread, your virtual sorcerer level from EH qualifies as a caster level for the very specific purpose of enchanting your AB.

Could you provide a source for that statement?

As I read it, the only thing about AB which scales with Wizard level is the cost of replacing your bond if it is lost or destroyed. The ability to add abilities to your AC is dependant on your CASTER level, not WIZARD level.

No source, only a different interpretation of the same rules you quote. The interpretation is in my post above, with the numbered arguments.

Wonderstell wrote:
But that simply means that the wizard must be at least 5th character level since that is the lowest possible level the wizard could have and still have caster level 5.

Unless he uses caster level shenanigans, but that's not the point we're arguing.


Casual Viking wrote:

Eldritch heritage: For purposes of using that power, treat your sorcerer level as equal to your character level – 2.

Arcane Bond: A [Sorcerer] can add additional magic abilities to his bonded object as if he has the required Item Creation Feats and if he meets the level prerequisites of the feat.

1) Enchanting the item is part of the Arcane Bond ability (both intuitively and by organization).
2) The character has the Arcane Bond ability.
3) The character has a Sorcerer level for the purposes of using the Arcane Bond ability.
4) A 5th level sorcerer with same ability could indisputably enchant a dagger.
5) Here's the beef: The actual definition of "caster level", from the Magic Chapter, does not prevent this from working.

1) Yep.

2) Yep.
3) Yep.
4) Yep. But a 5th level sorcerer would also have a caster level of 5.
5) Here's where I'm confused. I can't see what you are referring to in the description of caster level. Could you follow up with a quotation?

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Advice / PFS Arcane Bond Upgrade All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.