Does a creature to be explicitly be designated a target as enemy, before it attacks?


Rules Questions


Hello all,

I know Animal Companions take the orders from 'attack that' [point at for enemy]

In this particular case, i need to know if an enemy the Animal Companion hasn't seen yet, thus not marked such by its owner, is considered an enemy or random person, for purposes of blocked movement.

Thanks in advance for the feedback.


You can only move through the spaces of your allies. A random stranger on the street would not count as an ally.


That's all i needed to know.

Thank you.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

It might be more situational than that. Or at least it could be. The assumption is that allies let you through (because you're on their side in the fight) while enemies actively block you (because you're not on their side).

"A random stranger on the street" (especially one who is not an enemy or engaged in fighting against the druid) might see a big dire tiger rushing through his space and decide to let it through as if it were an ally - mainly because this stranger does not want to block the animal companion as if it were an enemy.

Nope, no rules for that. You can only move through an ally's space.

But it's totally reasonable to assume that if the animal companion looks at a combatant and thinks "he's my ally" then he might also think "I can move through his space" and he might try it, but if he thinks "he's my enemy" then he might also think "I can't move through his space" and so he won't try it, and if he thinks "I don't know if that guy is my ally or my enemy" it might also think "so I better not try to move through its space because it might hurt me" and therefore still would not try it.

And if it tried it anyway, that guy might think "this ally animal wants to go through" and then would let it or he might think "this enemy animal wants to go through but I will kill it instead" so he would block the animal and make his AoO as allowed, or would think "this animal might be an ally or might be an enemy" in which case, since it's not sure, it has to decide "do I want to fight this thing or let it run past?".

So very situational, if you want to play combatants like thinking beings. But if you want to just run the rules, only allies can move through occupied spaces without using Acrobatics.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Does a creature to be explicitly be designated a target as enemy, before it attacks? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions