Can a Hunter with low Wis cast Summon Nature's Ally?


Rules Questions


Ok, so first of all, the entry on Spells for the Hunter in the ACG is uber confusing. You have sentences like this:

"Like other spellcasters, a hunter can cast only a certain number of spells of each spell level per day. Her base daily spell allotment is given on the table above. In addition, she receives bonus spells per day if she has a high Wisdom score."

followed by sentences like this:

"Unlike spells per day, the number of spells a hunter knows is not affected by her Wisdom score; the numbers on the table above are fixed."

And then there is the issue of Summon Nature's Ally:

"In addition to the spells gained by hunters as they gain levels, each hunter also automatically adds all summon nature's ally spells to her list of spells known. These spells are added as soon as the hunter is capable of casting them."

Here's my dilemma. First of all, "automatically" and "in addition" to me mean that I'm not forced to substitute Summon Nature's Ally for one of the learned spells on the table. i.e. A Lvl 1 Hunter can learn 2 first level spells, but since SNA I is "in addition," he can technically learn three.

So my question:

If I rolled a Hunter with a Wis of 11, who according to Hunter rules, can only learn up to first level spells ("to learn or cast a spell, a hunter must have a Wisdom score equal to at least 10 + the spell's level"), when I level up to 4, can I still learn Summon Nature's Ally II, SNA III at Lvl 7, etc., because they are "in addition" and "automatically?"

If there is already an errata on this that I missed, please feel free to point me in that direction. This is for a vanilla hunter, not an archetype.

Muchas gracias in advance.


stacktdeck wrote:

Ok, so first of all, the entry on Spells for the Hunter in the ACG is uber confusing. You have sentences like this:

"Like other spellcasters, a hunter can cast only a certain number of spells of each spell level per day. Her base daily spell allotment is given on the table above. In addition, she receives bonus spells per day if she has a high Wisdom score."

followed by sentences like this:

"Unlike spells per day, the number of spells a hunter knows is not affected by her Wisdom score; the numbers on the table above are fixed."

And then there is the issue of Summon Nature's Ally:

"In addition to the spells gained by hunters as they gain levels, each hunter also automatically adds all summon nature's ally spells to her list of spells known. These spells are added as soon as the hunter is capable of casting them."

Here's my dilemma. First of all, "automatically" and "in addition" to me mean that I'm not forced to substitute Summon Nature's Ally for one of the learned spells on the table. i.e. A Lvl 1 Hunter can learn 2 first level spells, but since SNA I is "in addition," he can technically learn three.

So my question:

If I rolled a Hunter with a Wis of 11, who according to Hunter rules, can only learn up to first level spells ("to learn or cast a spell, a hunter must have a Wisdom score equal to at least 10 + the spell's level"), when I level up to 4, can I still learn Summon Nature's Ally II, SNA III at Lvl 7, etc., because they are "in addition" and "automatically?"

If there is already an errata on this that I missed, please feel free to point me in that direction. This is for a vanilla hunter, not an archetype.

Muchas gracias in advance.

It's not clear if you could learn them, but you could not cast them even if learned, so the question is rather moot.


"The minimum Wisdom score needed to cast a cleric, druid, or ranger spell is 10 + the spell's level." +

"In addition to the spells gained by hunters as they gain levels, each hunter also automatically adds all summon nature’s ally spells to her list of spells known. These spells are added as soon as the hunter is capable of casting them."

They are added "as soon as the hunter is capable of casting them" and the first quote tells you that you can't cast Summon Nature's Ally II until you have a wisdom of 12, so in fact you do NOT learn it at 4th if you have an 11 wisdom.


You add them whenever you get slots, and your spells known aren't effected by your wisdom, just you wouldn't be able to cast them.


Got it. Never really designed him as a spell caster, but now I know if I want SNA II, I need to add a Wis point at Lvl 4 or get some other ability buff.

Thanks y'all!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Can a Hunter with low Wis cast Summon Nature's Ally? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions