Surprise rule (at least to me)


Rules Questions

Silver Crusade

I had a judge rule that when it comes time for a spell caster to refresh shell slots (After 8 hours of rest) all the spell slots are emptied out regardless of if the slot was used or not. I had always played only the used spell slots need to be refreshed and the unused ones can be filled with a different spell or left as is.

Have I been playing it wrong all these years, or did this rule get changed recently?


Preparation wrote:
Selection and Preparation: Until he prepares spells from his spellbook, the only spells a wizard has available to cast are the ones that he already had prepared from the previous day and has not yet used. During the study period, he chooses which spells to prepare. If a wizard already has spells prepared (from the previous day) that he has not cast, she can abandon some or all of them to make room for new spells.

Looks like you can choose to not replace spells. I don't see why it would make a difference unless you had limited prep time.


Goddity wrote:
Looks like you can choose to not replace spells. I don't see why it would make a difference unless you had limited prep time.

One case might be that he no longer has access to the spellbook from which he prepared a certain spell


Entryhazard wrote:
Goddity wrote:
Looks like you can choose to not replace spells. I don't see why it would make a difference unless you had limited prep time.
One case might be that he no longer has access to the spell book from which he prepared a certain spell

Oh yes. That makes sense. I retract my question.


The GM is wrong.

Quote:
Spell Selection and Preparation: Until he prepares spells from his spellbook, the only spells a wizard has available to cast are the ones that he already had prepared from the previous day and has not yet used. During the study period, he chooses which spells to prepare. If a wizard already has spells prepared (from the previous day) that he has not cast, [b]she can abandon some or all of them to make room for new spells.[/b

Curiosity--> Since you could just put the same spells back into the same slots why would this affect gameplay?

Silver Crusade

1 person marked this as a favorite.
wraithstrike wrote:

The GM is wrong.

Quote:
Spell Selection and Preparation: Until he prepares spells from his spellbook, the only spells a wizard has available to cast are the ones that he already had prepared from the previous day and has not yet used. During the study period, he chooses which spells to prepare. If a wizard already has spells prepared (from the previous day) that he has not cast, [b]she can abandon some or all of them to make room for new spells.[/b
Curiosity--> Since you could just put the same spells back into the same slots why would this affect gameplay?

Theoretically, opponents could attack during the preparation period and the casters would have all the spell slots unusable if this surprise rule is used.

Silver Crusade

Oh and I forgot to mention this is for PFS. Does organized play have a rule that overrides the PRD?


No different for pfs. If you didn't cast it yesterday it is still there. I can choose to loose it and prep a different spell, but I don't have to.


This isnt an official ruling or anything of course, but the first part of Way of the Wicked kind of depends on the fact that your spellslots dont automatically empty

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

Jokem wrote:
Oh and I forgot to mention this is for PFS. Does organized play have a rule that overrides the PRD?

No PFS simply uses the rules as they are for most things.

Point your GM to that line about choosing whether or not to abandon them.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Surprise rule (at least to me) All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions