Does darkness go through walls?


Rules Questions


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Rereading the darkness spell made me realize that it is not specifically called out as an emanation, burst, spread, or anything of the sort really. It simply "radiates darkness."

Does that mean that the rules for emanations, bursts, and spreads don't apply? Can it then go through walls and other barriers?

The spell says that "If darkness is cast on a small object that is then placed inside or under a lightproof covering, the spell's effect is blocked until the covering is removed." However, it doesn't state what happens when the spell is NOT cast on a small object, but rather on a creature or a point of space. It seems that by omission, it would go through walls. (Otherwise, why call out small objects specifically?)

If I cast darkness in front of a door on a point in space, would the other side of the door also be shrouded in darkness?


Judging how nearly all low levels spells are some sort of emanation/burst/etc., I would certainly rule that it is blocked by walls.


Quote:
However, it doesn't state what happens when the spell is NOT cast on a small object, but rather on a creature or a point of space.

Darkness can not be cast on a creature or point in space. It must be cast on an object.

Quote:

School evocation [darkness]; Level bard 2, cleric 2, sorcerer/wizard 2

Casting Time 1 standard action
Components V, M/DF (bat fur and a piece of coal)
Range touch
Target object touched
Duration 1 min./level (D)
Saving Throw none; Spell Resistance no

It calls out small objects because it is a lot easier to hide/cover a small object and cut off the darkness.

Liberty's Edge

"This spell causes an object to radiate darkness out to a 20-foot radius."

I think it is self explanatory, the spell effect is a emanation from a single point.


Diego Rossi wrote:

"This spell causes an object to radiate darkness out to a 20-foot radius."

I think it is self explanatory, the spell effect is a emanation from a single point.

Except "emanation" is a specifically defined game term. "Radiate" is not.

Granted, it does make sense for it to be an emanation. By RAW, though, it isn't even an area spell. It is a target spell.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

What? Did that change from older editions of light/darkness spells? I recall it being able to be placed on people or a point in space.

Maybe I was just mixing it up with the silence spell.


Pathfinder Maps Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

Darkness should be in all ways treated like light. It's presented in the game as some sort of anti-light power, beyond the mere absence of light. So walls and other obstacles should block it.

Heck, there should even be darkness "shadows" created by intervening objects and creatures. Wouldn't that be cool. Pity the rules don't get into that level of detail.

Liberty's Edge

Ravingdork wrote:

What? Did that change from older editions of light/darkness spells? I recall it being able to be placed on people or a point in space.

Maybe I was just mixing it up with the silence spell.

Very old editions, 1st and 2nd ed. AD&D.


Wheldrake wrote:

Darkness should be in all ways treated like light. It's presented in the game as some sort of anti-light power, beyond the mere absence of light. So walls and other obstacles should block it.

Heck, there should even be darkness "shadows" created by intervening objects and creatures. Wouldn't that be cool. Pity the rules don't get into that level of detail.

This is how I run it. Because there's no clear definition of "emanation" or "spread" we have to deduce it from the rext. The description definitely sounds like an emanation, and the way darkness effects tend to work is as a foil to Light effects, so to me treating it as an Emanation makes sense.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

There are no words in darkness (including radiates) that suggest to me it no longer is bound by the line of effect rules. The line about lightproof covering should be clear. Most would think a wall is a lightproof covering.

The point is whether or not it is an "emanation, burst, spread, or anything of the sort really" is irrelevant. It isn't called out as being no longer bound by the line of effect rules, so it doesn't go through any objects that block line of effect.


Ravingdork wrote:
"If darkness is cast on a small object that is then placed inside or under a lightproof covering, the spell's effect is blocked until the covering is removed."

This is your answer right here. Are walls light proof? Unless made of a very thin material (paper?), then yes they are. Certainly the walls and roof of a building count as a covering if anyone wants to quibble over what a 'covering' is.

And I hope no one is going to argue that if the object is inside the covering before you cast the spell that it somehow behaves differently.


James Risner wrote:

There are no words in darkness (including radiates) that suggest to me it no longer is bound by the line of effect rules. The line about lightproof covering should be clear. Most would think a wall is a lightproof covering.

The point is whether or not it is an "emanation, burst, spread, or anything of the sort really" is irrelevant. It isn't called out as being no longer bound by the line of effect rules, so it doesn't go through any objects that block line of effect.

Spread specifically goes around objects and obstacles that block line of effect, so no, it is not 'irrelevant' if it happens to be a spread.

That said, it's not a spread.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

bbangerter wrote:
This is your answer right here. Are walls light proof? Unless made of a very thin material (paper?), then yes they are

+1

I'd go with something like this in a game.


I'm a bit late to the party, but I had this exact question, and since there's no official rule, I'm treating darkness and light spells as an emanation, which makes perfect sense - so it "casts shadows" in reverse.

(The weird thing is that silence calls this out specifically: "20-ft.-radius emanation centered on a creature, object, or point in space" - which means silence doesn't extend around corners - but light and darkness spells, which could easily have used this wording, don't.)

So, I figure it makes the most sense for silence, light, and darkness all to be emanations. (It makes far more sense for silence to act like a spread instead of an emanation, but RAW says emanation. It's frickin magic, what do you want.)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Does darkness go through walls? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions