Banner of Valor (Wrath of the Righteous)


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


Banner of Valor says that you display it next to a location [...] then you pick it back up when the location is closed (or something like that, I don't have the card in front of me).

Question: Do you still get to pick it up if you fail the scenario because there's no more blessing to advance in the blessing deck, even though you did not close the location where the banner was displayed?

I know that a similar question has been asked about Padrig and the answer was: "If a card doesn't say when it is un-displayed, un-display it at the end of the scenario". But I find there's a difference with Banner of Valor since it tells you when to un-display it (when the location is closed), but you fail to meet that requirement...

I know it would be a hard blow for a party to lose the Banner of Valor if it was still displayed when a scenario is failed, but maybe it would make you think twice before systematically displaying the Banner when there is not much time left...


WotR Rulebook p18 wrote:

Between Games

After each scenario, you must rebuild your character deck. Start by combining your discard pile with your hand, your character deck, any cards you buried under your character card, and any cards you displayed...

So, you get to pick up any cards you displayed, regardless of where they are displayed. Banner of Valor falls under that instruction. So, you get to use it when rebuilding after a scenario, win or lose.


Thank you! Once again, the answer is in the rule book... Yet, it seems that whenever I look for something in the rule book I never find it... Hence this forum!

Silver Crusade

When the location is closed is the Banner of Valor added to the hand of the character who closed the location or back to the hand of the character who originally displayed it?


Back to the hand of the character who originally displayed it.

"On closing, add this card to your hand." is a direction back to the character that played it.

Silver Crusade

Thanks!


jduteau wrote:

Back to the hand of the character who originally displayed it.

"On closing, add this card to your hand." is a direction back to the character that played it.

There is a tricky exception on the "cards have no memory" golden rule, which is the fact that displayed cards seems to remember who displayed them. It's obvious for spells like Strength or Glibness, but actually is true IMHO for all of them, including cards displayed near other characters, locations, ships, scenarios, and so on.

I sometimes wish it would be made clearer in the rules.

Adventure Card Game Designer

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Yeah, that was a little bit of memory we could not seem to root out of the game. A simple solution is to give everyone a couple of different display markers if you're having trouble.


Mike Selinker wrote:
Yeah, that was a little bit of memory we could not seem to root out of the game. A simple solution is to give everyone a couple of different display markers if you're having trouble.

Actually we do that in a fun way: I have enough minis or proxies of the different iconics characters to put one on each of the "remotely displayed" cards.

Happy I did a very tiny bit of help in helping clarifying that.
And very happy this gives me the opportunity to wish Mike happy/merry Holidays.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Banner of Valor (Wrath of the Righteous) All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion