
C4M3R0N |

Edit: Derp, helps to read. If you use the magus' Empower Arcana ability and then Spell Recall the spell back, it would cost 1 point, the normal amount that an unmodified shocking grasp would cost.
I believe the actual question was whether the shocking grasp would be empowered still after the recall, or just a normal shocking grasp.
Which I am curious as well what would happen.

Ashram |

Ashram wrote:Edit: Derp, helps to read. If you use the magus' Empower Arcana ability and then Spell Recall the spell back, it would cost 1 point, the normal amount that an unmodified shocking grasp would cost.I believe the actual question was whether the shocking grasp would be empowered still after the recall, or just a normal shocking grasp.
Which I am curious as well what would happen.
That's what my post is implying. His shocking grasp would not be recalled as another empowered shocking grasp because Spell Recall, at least to my RAI reading, brings back a spell as it was initially prepared. Otherwise you could use your once-a-day Empower Arcana and continuously use Spell Recall to recall the empowered spell until you run out of arcane pool points.
In any case, this is more of a rules question than true advice, so I'm flagging the OP's post for a change of board.

C4M3R0N |

C4M3R0N wrote:Ashram wrote:Edit: Derp, helps to read. If you use the magus' Empower Arcana ability and then Spell Recall the spell back, it would cost 1 point, the normal amount that an unmodified shocking grasp would cost.I believe the actual question was whether the shocking grasp would be empowered still after the recall, or just a normal shocking grasp.
Which I am curious as well what would happen.
That's what my post is implying. His shocking grasp would not be recalled as another empowered shocking grasp because Spell Recall, at least to my RAI reading, brings back a spell as it was initially prepared. Otherwise you could use your once-a-day Empower Arcana and continuously use Spell Recall to recall the empowered spell until you run out of arcane pool points.
In any case, this is more of a rules question than true advice, so I'm flagging the OP's post for a change of board.
Ahhh!!! I understand what you're saying. That makes sense to prevent exploit.
So good to know
FiddlersGreen |

What about an echoing spell?
If I prepared a quickened spell and used a metamagic rod to also make it an echoing spell, I get to cast it a second time as a quickened spell, right?
What if I prepared an echoing spell and used a metamagic rod to quicken it? Will the second casting be quickened?

Ashram |

but so if i prepare it as empowered sence i dont cast spontaniously it would come back as empowered.
Correct. If you were to prepare your shocking grasp as empowered and then use Spell Recall to recall it, it would cost you 3 arcane pool points (Or less, if you have Magical Lineage or something related) and come back as an empowered shocking grasp.
What about an echoing spell?
If I prepared a quickened spell and used a metamagic rod to also make it an echoing spell, I get to cast it a second time as a quickened spell, right?
What if I prepared an echoing spell and used a metamagic rod to quicken it? Will the second casting be quickened?
Just saying, your examples are similar but different to what the OP is asking. You would be better off asking that in the rules forum.

![]() |

What about an echoing spell?
If I prepared a quickened spell and used a metamagic rod to also make it an echoing spell, I get to cast it a second time as a quickened spell, right?
What if I prepared an echoing spell and used a metamagic rod to quicken it? Will the second casting be quickened?
If you prepare it with metamagic, then yes. If you use a metamagic rod, then no.

Skylancer4 |

and just to make sure i understand how all these metamagic interact lets say shocking grasp+intensify spell+empower, at level 6, you are rolling 9d6?
Correct, the max damage is 10d6 from intensified.
Empower gives an additional 50% damage dice.The combo caps out at 15d6 which is why it is so popular (PFS tends to stop around 12 with few exceptions).

bbangerter |

azighal wrote:and just to make sure i understand how all these metamagic interact lets say shocking grasp+intensify spell+empower, at level 6, you are rolling 9d6?Correct, the max damage is 10d6 from intensified.
Empower gives an additional 50% damage dice.The combo caps out at 15d6 which is why it is so popular (PFS tends to stop around 12 with few exceptions).
Empower does not add additional dice to the damage (though in this example case it would generally amount to the same bonus damage). Empower multiplies the damage rolled by 1.5.
So if you get 10d6, then you get to multiply the value rolled by 1.5.
If you get 7d6 you get to multiply that value by 1.5 (instead of trying to roll 10.5 dice).
The number of dice rolled for a given spell is not a variable value. For a given caster, at a given level (with whatever specific metamagic feats, or not feats) the number of dice rolled is a fixed value. The result that comes up on those individual die rolls is variable though - and this is what the empower spell metamagic feat changes.

Skylancer4 |

Skylancer4 wrote:azighal wrote:and just to make sure i understand how all these metamagic interact lets say shocking grasp+intensify spell+empower, at level 6, you are rolling 9d6?Correct, the max damage is 10d6 from intensified.
Empower gives an additional 50% damage dice.The combo caps out at 15d6 which is why it is so popular (PFS tends to stop around 12 with few exceptions).
Empower does not add additional dice to the damage (though in this example case it would generally amount to the same bonus damage). Empower multiplies the damage rolled by 1.5.
So if you get 10d6, then you get to multiply the value rolled by 1.5.
If you get 7d6 you get to multiply that value by 1.5 (instead of trying to roll 10.5 dice).
The number of dice rolled for a given spell is not a variable value. For a given caster, at a given level (with whatever specific metamagic feats, or not feats) the number of dice rolled is a fixed value. The result that comes up on those individual die rolls is variable though - and this is what the empower spell metamagic feat changes.
Bleh, mis-remembered Empower. Different route to the same effective result. But the technicalities matter.