Draconic Bloodline Colors, Part of Bloodline?


Rules Questions

Sovereign Court

When you choose the Draconic bloodline (or Elemental) you make a decision at 1st level as to which particular color of dragon.

Now, is the Bloodline just "Draconic" regardless of which color selected? Or is the actual bloodline "Draconic(Black)", for example?

The reason I am asking is about the interaction between a Sorcerer and the requirement from Blood Arcanist that it must select the same bloodline if it already has one.

PRD - Blood Arcanist:
Blood Arcanist (Archetype)
Though most arcanists possess only a rudimentary innate arcane gift, the blood arcanist has the full power of a bloodline to draw upon.

Bloodline: A blood arcanist selects one bloodline from those available through the sorcerer bloodline class feature. The blood arcanist gains the bloodline arcana and bloodline powers of that bloodline, treating her arcanist level as her sorcerer level. The blood arcanist does not gain the class skill, bonus feats, or bonus spells from her bloodline.

If the blood arcanist takes levels in another class that grants a bloodline, the bloodlines must be of the same type, even if that means that the bloodline of one of her classes must change. Subject to GM approval, the blood arcanist can change her previous bloodline to make them conform.

This ability replaces the arcanist exploits gained at 1st, 3rd, 9th, and 15th levels, as well as magical supremacy. A blood arcanist cannot select the bloodline development arcanist exploit.

If the bloodline is "Draconic" rather then "Draconic(Black)" then a different color choice could be made with Arcanist. For instance: Sorcerer with Draconic Bloodline (choosing Black) and Blood Arcanist with Draconic Bloodline (choosing Copper). And by extension: Elemental(Air) Sorcerer, Elemental(Fire) Blood Arcanist.

If the Bloodline is "Draconic(Black)" then Crossblooded Sorcerer should be able to take "Draconic(Black) and Draconic(Copper)", correct?

Which way does everyone else read this interaction?

Bonus question: Robe of Arcane Heritage on a Crossblooded Sorcerer. Crossblooded gives the choice of powers and you can select powers you didn't choose at a lower level. The Robe gives you the powers as if you were a higher level, before you make the choice on which power you want. Could you simply remove the Robe and put it back on to choose a power from the other bloodline?


Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

I believe that when you take the Draconic bloodline you are locked into the colour you choose.

Sovereign Court

LizardMage wrote:
I believe that when you take the Draconic bloodline you are locked into the colour you choose.

So... are you saying:

1) That the bloodline is Draconic(specific color)? And Draconic(other color) is a different bloodline?
2) That the bloodline is Draconic regardless of the color chosen, the choice of color can be made separately per class/feat that gives a bloodline.
3) That the bloodline is Draconic; But a Blood Arcanist cannot choose a different color, just like the Dragon Disciple cannot, even though the Blood Arcanist does not have language saying it must choose the same color.


Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

Your third option. As it stands, RAW may not say the same thing as Dragon Disciple, but there is enough of a precedent set Pathfinder to assume that's the case.

That's my opinion and interpretation, others may disagree. I am by no means an expert or game designer. Just a humble GM.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

If you have Draconic (Black), then selecting the same Bloodline is also Drconic (Black). You can't select Draconic (Red) and say it is the same as Draconic (Black).


I agree with James, because the elemental resistances and breath weapons are not the same between some of the colors/metals.

Sovereign Court

James Risner wrote:
If you have Draconic (Black), then selecting the same Bloodline is also Drconic (Black). You can't select Draconic (Red) and say it is the same as Draconic (Black).

So since you are saying they are different, you are ok with a Crossblooded Sorcerer picking Draconic(Black) and Draconic(Red)?

Azten wrote:
I agree with James, because the elemental resistances and breath weapons are not the same between some of the colors/metals.

So lets look at my example in the opening post: Black and Copper.

Same breath weapon. Same resistances. So no difference? Blue and Bronze, Red and Gold, White and Silver. The only ones not paired up are Green and Brass.

But does it matter if they were different? There isn't "add your levels together to determine the effect" language like Sneak Attack or Uncanny Dodge. You would track your level in each bloodline separately based on the source of the bloodline.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

Firebug wrote:
they are different, you are ok with a Crossblooded Sorcerer picking Draconic(Black) and Draconic(Red)?

No, more like, same but different.

I wouldn't allow Crossblooded Draconic (Black) and Draconic (Red) because they are both Draconic.

Sovereign Court

James Risner wrote:
If you have Draconic (Black), then selecting the same Bloodline is also Drconic (Black). You can't select Draconic (Red) and say it is the same as Draconic (Black).
James Risner wrote:
I wouldn't allow Crossblooded Draconic (Black) and Draconic (Red) because they are both Draconic.

So which is it? Are they both Draconic regardless of the choice of color? Or are they different because the color is different? Can you see how you are wanting it both ways?


They are the same, but still different.

Also, DD says if you have levels in a class that grants a bloodline it must be Draconic, and that DD stacks with such a class. A class. Singular. It wouldn't progress two bloodline classes anyway.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

Firebug wrote:
Can you see how you are wanting it both ways?

Yes.

Still is both ways.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Draconic Bloodline Colors, Part of Bloodline? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions