
Ravingdork |

Could my kineticist gather power as a move action, move to get a better line of attack on my target (or take some other action such as flame jet), then in the next round gather power as a move action and then blast the opponent with a 2 point reduction?
Or does it absolutely have to be one of the following?
Move action > blast
Full round action > Move action > blast
If this isn't permitted, why not?

![]() |

Gather Power (Su): If she has both hands free (or all of
her prehensile appendages free, for unusual kineticists), a
kineticist can gather energy or elemental matter as a move
action. Gathering power creates an extremely loud, visible
display in a 20-foot radius centered on the kineticist, as the
energy or matter swirls around her. Gathering power in this
way allows the kineticist to reduce the total burn cost of a
blast wild talent she uses in the same round by 1 point. The
kineticist can instead gather power for 1 full round in order
to reduce the total burn cost of a blast wild talent used on
her next turn by 2 points (to a minimum of 0 points). If she
does so, she can also gather power as a move action during
her next turn to reduce the burn cost by a total of 3 points.
The ability specifically state the bonus for the 'move action' version ends at the end of your turn, so 'either use it or lose it.'
If you spend a full round instead, it lasts until the end of your next round (remember, a 'full round' is not just your move and standard action, it is the entire time period before your next round starts) and you can normally squeeze another move action 'gather' in as well to get the total reduction to 3.
Xethik |

You could probably do this, though:
Turn 1) Move (move action), start gather power full round action (standard action)
Turn 2) move (move action), finish gather power full round action (standard)
Turn 3) move action gather and blast

Ravingdork |

Ah, I thought the "in the same round" verbiage applied to all forms of gather power, and thus was simply an editor's mistake that could more or less be ignored.
I see that, that is not the case; it clearly applies only to the move action version of gather power.
Does that mean I could gather power for a 2-point reduction, then hold onto the "charge" for more than 1 round? Clearly the secondary option does not have the same limitation mentioned as the first one.

Xethik |

Gather Power (Su): If she has both hands free (or all of
her prehensile appendages free, for unusual kineticists), a
kineticist can gather energy or elemental matter as a move
action. Gathering power creates an extremely loud, visible
display in a 20-foot radius centered on the kineticist, as the
energy or matter swirls around her. Gathering power in this
way allows the kineticist to reduce the total burn cost of a
blast wild talent she uses in the same round by 1 point. The
kineticist can instead gather power for 1 full round in order
to reduce the total burn cost of a blast wild talent used on
her next turn by 2 points (to a minimum of 0 points). If she
does so, she can also gather power as a move action during
her next turn to reduce the burn cost by a total of 3 points.
:)

![]() |
The rules only give support for one move action used to gather power.
Otherwise the progression is as follows.
! move action of gather power to save 1 pt.
1 full round action of gather power to save 2
1 full round action plus one move action of the next turn of gather power to save 3 which is the maximum amount of gathering supported by rules text.
There is a difference between 1 full round action and 2 move actions. If the full round action is interrupted, you lose the full round of activity.