Gather Power with two move actions allowed?


Rules Questions


Pathfinder Maps, Pawns Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

Could my kineticist gather power as a move action, move to get a better line of attack on my target (or take some other action such as flame jet), then in the next round gather power as a move action and then blast the opponent with a 2 point reduction?

Or does it absolutely have to be one of the following?
Move action > blast
Full round action > Move action > blast

If this isn't permitted, why not?

Shadow Lodge

Occult Adventures wrote:

Gather Power (Su): If she has both hands free (or all of

her prehensile appendages free, for unusual kineticists), a
kineticist can gather energy or elemental matter as a move
action. Gathering power creates an extremely loud, visible
display in a 20-foot radius centered on the kineticist, as the
energy or matter swirls around her. Gathering power in this
way allows the kineticist to reduce the total burn cost of a
blast wild talent she uses in the same round by 1 point. The
kineticist can instead gather power for 1 full round in order
to reduce the total burn cost of a blast wild talent used on
her next turn by 2 points (to a minimum of 0 points). If she
does so, she can also gather power as a move action during
her next turn to reduce the burn cost by a total of 3 points.

The ability specifically state the bonus for the 'move action' version ends at the end of your turn, so 'either use it or lose it.'

If you spend a full round instead, it lasts until the end of your next round (remember, a 'full round' is not just your move and standard action, it is the entire time period before your next round starts) and you can normally squeeze another move action 'gather' in as well to get the total reduction to 3.


Pathfinder Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

You could probably do this, though:
Turn 1) Move (move action), start gather power full round action (standard action)
Turn 2) move (move action), finish gather power full round action (standard)
Turn 3) move action gather and blast


You can if you can make more tahn 1 move action + 1 standard action in the same turn, though (i think there was a spell that gave you an extra movement action each turn, right?), as the move-action-gathered power lastst until the end of your turn.


Pathfinder Maps, Pawns Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

Ah, I thought the "in the same round" verbiage applied to all forms of gather power, and thus was simply an editor's mistake that could more or less be ignored.

I see that, that is not the case; it clearly applies only to the move action version of gather power.

Does that mean I could gather power for a 2-point reduction, then hold onto the "charge" for more than 1 round? Clearly the secondary option does not have the same limitation mentioned as the first one.


Pathfinder Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Quote:

Gather Power (Su): If she has both hands free (or all of

her prehensile appendages free, for unusual kineticists), a
kineticist can gather energy or elemental matter as a move
action. Gathering power creates an extremely loud, visible
display in a 20-foot radius centered on the kineticist, as the
energy or matter swirls around her. Gathering power in this
way allows the kineticist to reduce the total burn cost of a
blast wild talent she uses in the same round by 1 point. The
kineticist can instead gather power for 1 full round in order
to reduce the total burn cost of a blast wild talent used on
her next turn by 2 points (to a minimum of 0 points)
. If she
does so, she can also gather power as a move action during
her next turn to reduce the burn cost by a total of 3 points.

:)


Pathfinder Maps, Pawns Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

And that is a clear example of selective reading on my part. *facepalm*

The Exchange

Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

I wonder if mythic haste helps gather more power. It gives you an extra move action.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

The rules only give support for one move action used to gather power.

Otherwise the progression is as follows.

! move action of gather power to save 1 pt.

1 full round action of gather power to save 2

1 full round action plus one move action of the next turn of gather power to save 3 which is the maximum amount of gathering supported by rules text.

There is a difference between 1 full round action and 2 move actions. If the full round action is interrupted, you lose the full round of activity.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Gather Power with two move actions allowed? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.