Questions about Spells


Rules Questions


So when you get your bonus spells per day, at 16-17 for example you get a extra 2 and 3rd level spell which at level one you wouldn't get can you still cast them? I remember reading something about you can cast any spell that's caster level is lower than or equal to your spell ability modifier, but I cant find that right now. Any help is appreciated.


Are you asking if you can use bonus spell slots granted by a high mental score above what spell level your class allows you to cast? No, you cannot. A level 1 wizard can only cast level 0 and level 1 spells, period. If you want more powerful spells at level 1, buy a scroll or some other magic item.

Grand Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Jericho21 wrote:
So when you get your bonus spells per day, at 16-17 for example you get a extra 2 and 3rd level spell which at level one you wouldn't get can you still cast them? I remember reading something about you can cast any spell that's caster level is lower than or equal to your spell ability modifier, but I cant find that right now. Any help is appreciated.

You can't find the rule because it does not exist.

Your spells per day chart determines what you can cast. In order for bonus spells to count, you must have at least a Zero in the level on the chart.


Jericho21 wrote:
So when you get your bonus spells per day, at 16-17 for example you get a extra 2 and 3rd level spell which at level one you wouldn't get can you still cast them? I remember reading something about you can cast any spell that's caster level is lower than or equal to your spell ability modifier, but I cant find that right now. Any help is appreciated.

You are mis-remembering the limitation on casting spells. You are unable to cast spells of a level above your casting stat modifier. If you were a 20th level wizard with an INT mod of +2, you would be unable to cast anything above level 2 spells.


Jericho21 wrote:
So when you get your bonus spells per day, at 16-17 for example you get a extra 2 and 3rd level spell which at level one you wouldn't get can you still cast them? I remember reading something about you can cast any spell that's caster level is lower than or equal to your spell ability modifier, but I cant find that right now. Any help is appreciated.

Sure, if you could already cast higher level spells beforehand.

The rule you're "remembering" refers to the ability to scribe lower level spells in higher level spell slots, should you have access to them.

At this time, I can't cite a rule that says you can. Simultaneously, I don't see one that says you can't, so by the book there's no reason outside of GM FIAT that says "No." This means that it is, per RAW, legal to prepare Color Spray in a 2nd level Spell Slot.

However, expect table variation.

Grand Lodge

FAQ Answer under CRB:
"Bonus Spells from a High Ability Score: Can I use these even if my spellcasting class level isn't high enough to give me access to those spell levels?
No. You only get the bonus spells if your class level grants you access to those spell levels. You can't even use them for lower-level spells. See page 16, Abilities and Spellcasters section: "In addition to having a high ability score, a spellcaster must be of a high enough class level to be able to cast spells of a given spell level. "
For example, a 1st-level wizard with 18 Intelligence has (according to table 1–3: Ability Modifiers and Bonus Spells) 1 bonus spell at spell levels 1, 2, and 3. However, he can only use the 1st-level bonus spell because as a 1st-level wizard he only has access to 1st-level spells (his class-based number of 2nd- and 3rd-level spells per day are "—", meaning "no access to spells of this level"). As soon as he becomes a 3rd-level wizard, he gains access to his 2nd-level spell slots and can use that bonus 2nd-level spell slot from his high Intelligence, and likewise for 3rd-level spells and bonus spells at wizard level 5.
Basically, ignore the columns for higher-level spells on table 1–3: Ability Modifiers and Bonus Spells until your class grants you access to those spell levels."

Also, to the OPs original question, the casting stat must be at least 10 plus spell level in order to cast a spell.


Darksol the Painbringer wrote:
Jericho21 wrote:
So when you get your bonus spells per day, at 16-17 for example you get a extra 2 and 3rd level spell which at level one you wouldn't get can you still cast them? I remember reading something about you can cast any spell that's caster level is lower than or equal to your spell ability modifier, but I cant find that right now. Any help is appreciated.

Sure, if you could already cast higher level spells beforehand.

The rule you're "remembering" refers to the ability to scribe lower level spells in higher level spell slots, should you have access to them.

At this time, I can't cite a rule that says you can. Simultaneously, I don't see one that says you can't, so by the book there's no reason outside of GM FIAT that says "No." This means that it is, per RAW, legal to prepare Color Spray in a 2nd level Spell Slot.

However, expect table variation.

There is an FAQ that states you are unable to use slots you don't have access to.

Edit: Ninja'd


Skylancer4 wrote:
Jericho21 wrote:
So when you get your bonus spells per day, at 16-17 for example you get a extra 2 and 3rd level spell which at level one you wouldn't get can you still cast them? I remember reading something about you can cast any spell that's caster level is lower than or equal to your spell ability modifier, but I cant find that right now. Any help is appreciated.
You are mis-remembering the limitation on casting spells. You are unable to cast spells of a level above your casting stat modifier. If you were a 20th level wizard with an INT mod of +2, you would be unable to cast anything above level 2 spells.

That's not correct. You need an INT-10 score equivalent to the highest level of spells you can cast.

So, you need a 12 INT to cast level 2 spells, 16 INT for level 6, and a 19 INT for level 9.

It is not required to get a +9 INT bonus (28 INT) to cast level 9 spells.


Skylancer4 wrote:
Darksol the Painbringer wrote:
Jericho21 wrote:
So when you get your bonus spells per day, at 16-17 for example you get a extra 2 and 3rd level spell which at level one you wouldn't get can you still cast them? I remember reading something about you can cast any spell that's caster level is lower than or equal to your spell ability modifier, but I cant find that right now. Any help is appreciated.

Sure, if you could already cast higher level spells beforehand.

The rule you're "remembering" refers to the ability to scribe lower level spells in higher level spell slots, should you have access to them.

At this time, I can't cite a rule that says you can. Simultaneously, I don't see one that says you can't, so by the book there's no reason outside of GM FIAT that says "No." This means that it is, per RAW, legal to prepare Color Spray in a 2nd level Spell Slot.

However, expect table variation.

There is an FAQ that states you are unable to use slots you don't have access to.

Edit: Ninja'd

And that's what the link in my post leads to: The FAQ.

I was simply stating if the reverse could also be true (i.e. prepare Color Spray, a 1st level spell, into a 2nd level spell slot), as there are no rules that say you can (or can't).


FAQ wrote:

his class-based number of 2nd- and 3rd-level spells per day are "—", meaning "no access to spells of this level"As soon as he becomes a 3rd-level wizard, he gains access to his 2nd-level spell slots and can use that bonus 2nd-level spell slot from his high Intelligence

...
Basically, ignore the columns for higher-level spells on table 1–3: Ability Modifiers and Bonus Spells until your class grants you access to those spell levels.

If you have a '-' in your spells/day table you do not have access to spells of this level, Even if all you want to do is use them for 1st level spells. Even if you have sufficient intelligence to have 100 bonus spells of that level, you can't use them for anything because you don't have access to them.

The only way you can utilise your second level bonus spell at 1st level is by completely ignoring the FAQ.


Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

If I am a 1st or 2nd level wizard and I have a 2nd level bonus spell, I canNOT access it in any way until I become a 3rd level wizard. I obviously cannot fill it with a 2nd level spell, because I do not have access to 2nd level spells yet. I also cannot use it to cast an extra 1st level spell because I do not have access to it and the FAQ cited supports this.

FAQ wrote:
You only get the bonus spells if your class level grants you access to those spell levels. You can't even use them for lower-level spells.


Skylancer4 wrote:


You are mis-remembering the limitation on casting spells. You are unable to cast spells of a level above your casting stat modifier. If you were a 20th level wizard with an INT mod of +2, you would be unable to cast anything above level 2 spells.

No, the rule is that your ability score must be at least 10 + the spell level to cast a spell. An intelleigence score of 12 would only have a modifier of +1, but the wizard could still cast second level spells.


Meh, I blame it on a late night. Regardless the OP still had the rule grossly wrong which led to the misunderstanding of the case.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Questions about Spells All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions