| Delenot |
When a spell lists it's target as 'creatures touched', how do you determine how many creatures the caster can touch?
For example; do the spell recipients have to all stand adjacent to the caster? Can the caster move selecting recipients? Can the targets all just hold hands in a big chain of magical happiness?
| Rynjin |
When a spell lists it's target as 'creatures touched', how do you determine how many creatures the caster can touch?
For example; do the spell recipients have to all stand adjacent to the caster? Can the caster move selecting recipients? Can the targets all just hold hands in a big chain of magical happiness?
"Some touch spells allow you to touch multiple targets. You can touch up to 6 willing targets as part of the casting, but all targets of the spell must be touched in the same round that you finish casting the spell. If the spell allows you to touch targets over multiple rounds, touching 6 creatures is a full-round action."
So, basically, in the best case you have a Move action left, so everyone pretty much needs to be clustered in place since you can't generally take actions in the middle of a Move.
| dragonhunterq |
Touch: You must touch a creature or object to affect it. A touch spell that deals damage can score a critical hit just as a weapon can. A touch spell threatens a critical hit on a natural roll of 20 and deals double damage on a successful critical hit. Some touch spells allow you to touch multiple targets. You can touch up to 6 willing targets as part of the casting, but all targets of the spell must be touched in the same round that you finish casting the spell. If the spell allows you to touch targets over multiple rounds, touching 6 creatures is a full-round action.
| Jeraa |
When a spell lists it's target as 'creatures touched', how do you determine how many creatures the caster can touch?
For example; do the spell recipients have to all stand adjacent to the caster? Can the caster move selecting recipients? Can the targets all just hold hands in a big chain of magical happiness?
The spell itself will tell you how many creatures can be touched. Teleport, for example, can bring along 1 extra person per 3 caster levels. Bull's strength says "creature touched" (singular - 1 person).
The above posters covered the how you touch people.
| _Ozy_ |
Delenot wrote:When a spell lists it's target as 'creatures touched', how do you determine how many creatures the caster can touch?
For example; do the spell recipients have to all stand adjacent to the caster? Can the caster move selecting recipients? Can the targets all just hold hands in a big chain of magical happiness?
"Some touch spells allow you to touch multiple targets. You can touch up to 6 willing targets as part of the casting, but all targets of the spell must be touched in the same round that you finish casting the spell. If the spell allows you to touch targets over multiple rounds, touching 6 creatures is a full-round action."
So, basically, in the best case you have a Move action left, so everyone pretty much needs to be clustered in place since you can't generally take actions in the middle of a Move.
Touching willing allies has to either be a free action or a 'no action' otherwise you wouldn't be able to touch 6 of them in the same round that you cast a spell and move.
In any case, you can perform free actions (or no actions) during another action, so it would be no problem to touch allies during your move action.
| Darksol the Painbringer |
PRD/Magic/range wrote:Touch: You must touch a creature or object to affect it. A touch spell that deals damage can score a critical hit just as a weapon can. A touch spell threatens a critical hit on a natural roll of 20 and deals double damage on a successful critical hit. Some touch spells allow you to touch multiple targets. You can touch up to 6 willing targets as part of the casting, but all targets of the spell must be touched in the same round that you finish casting the spell. If the spell allows you to touch targets over multiple rounds, touching 6 creatures is a full-round action.
I am curious about the bolded part and how it interacts with spells such as Chill Touch.
If the caster is surrounded by enemies, could he then make a Touch Attack against each one of them up to 6 of them as a Full-Round Action?
| _Ozy_ |
dragonhunterq wrote:PRD/Magic/range wrote:Touch: You must touch a creature or object to affect it. A touch spell that deals damage can score a critical hit just as a weapon can. A touch spell threatens a critical hit on a natural roll of 20 and deals double damage on a successful critical hit. Some touch spells allow you to touch multiple targets. You can touch up to 6 willing targets as part of the casting, but all targets of the spell must be touched in the same round that you finish casting the spell. If the spell allows you to touch targets over multiple rounds, touching 6 creatures is a full-round action.I am curious about the bolded part and how it interacts with spells such as Chill Touch.
If the caster is surrounded by enemies, could he then make a Touch Attack against each one of them up to 6 of them as a Full-Round Action?
Presumably that sentence is an extension of the previous thought describing the touching of willing creatures.
| Jeraa |
I'm looking specifically at Water Breathing. But any spell in general that involves touching multiple creatures would be handled the same I would gather.
Water breathing can affect up to 6 people, depending on how many you touch during the casting.
Touch: You must touch a creature or object to affect it. A touch spell that deals damage can score a critical hit just as a weapon can. A touch spell threatens a critical hit on a natural roll of 20 and deals double damage on a successful critical hit. Some touch spells allow you to touch multiple targets. You can touch up to 6 willing targets as part of the casting, but all targets of the spell must be touched in the same round that you finish casting the spell. If the spell allows you to touch targets over multiple rounds, touching 6 creatures is a full-round action.
| Crimeo |
Touching willing allies has to either be a free action or a 'no action' otherwise you wouldn't be able to touch 6 of them in the same round that you cast a spell and move.
I don't think you actually need to touch them in the same round. Yes, I know it says:
You can touch up to 6 willing targets as part of the casting, but all targets of the spell must be touched in the same round that you finish casting the spell.
But then the next sentence is:
If the spell allows you to touch targets over multiple rounds, touching 6 creatures is a full-round action.
And as far as I know, ALL touch spells allow that. So the second sentence always applies, and the first one never applies, because of this:
Holding the Charge: If you don't discharge the [touch] spell in the round when you cast the spell, you can hold the charge indefinitely. You can continue to make touch attacks round after round. If you touch anything or anyone while holding a charge, even unintentionally, the spell discharges. If you cast another spell, the touch spell dissipates. You can touch one friend as a standard action or up to six friends as a full-round action.
I.e. the general rules already give allowance to hold charge for every touch spell, so I'm not sure what they're going on about in that one line about spells that don't allow this. It seems like it would never actually be relevant. Unless I'm missing something.
| Qaianna |
I think it might come up if you have a '1 touch per level' sort of spell, and you want to share the magic with 12 friends.
Although it's also very tempting to imagine the targets standing around you and you smack them all like Moe Howard slapping everyone on screen in one swing. I wonder if you can get Cleave (touch spell).
| Darksol the Painbringer |
I think it might come up if you have a '1 touch per level' sort of spell, and you want to share the magic with 12 friends.
Although it's also very tempting to imagine the targets standing around you and you smack them all like Moe Howard slapping everyone on screen in one swing. I wonder if you can get Cleave (touch spell).
Cleave doesn't require choosing a type of weapon like Weapon Focus would.
Keep in mind that the original part I bolded can be used to affect enemies, especially if they are valid targets for the spell (i.e. "Creature Touched"); unfortunately, it is debunked by the clarification that touching 6 allies is a Full-Round Action.
A shame, truly, but I'd rather not give Spellcasters more power than they already have.
| Crimeo |
Yes you can hold teleport as a delayed charge. Why wouldn't you be able to? it's a touch spell. You can hold touch spells. Nothing ever tells you that teleport is an exception to this, so you can.
"Instantaneous" only means that it happens instantly once triggered and is not a dispellable ongoing effect.
"Personal" means it only affects you (so you only have to touch yourself to actually trigger the spell. The text about bringing other people with you is a custom, teleport-only bunch of details about the function of the magical effect of the spell, not a matter of broader touch rules.)
OR depending on your perspective, if you're less forgiving, it is just a typo, and saying "you have to be one of the people teleported" should have been handled less awkwardly and without a technically incorrect keyword.
But that's all getting way off topic.