Effortless Lace and Large bastard Sword


Rules Questions


reducing the attack roll penalty incurred by a wielder who is smaller than the weapon's intended wielder by 2 (to a minimum penalty of 0).

Will it remove the penalty on the large bastard Sword?

Dark Archive

That appears to be it exactly - RAW


Should it work like that or only to remove the TWF penalty?

The Exchange

Zautos' wrote:
Should it work like that or only to remove the TWF penalty?

As I'm reading it, it only reduces the penalty for an offsize weapon, it doesn't confer any benefit for TWF. Also, if you're using a bastard sword without the exotic weapon proficiency, so that you can only wield it 2-handed, then you wouldn't be able to use a large bastard sword, because you would have to treat it as something larger than a 2-handed sword, which is unwieldable. With the exotic proficiency, though, you'd normally be able to treat a bastard sword as 1-handed, so you could treat a large one as 2-handed.


I meant the penalty for wielding a larger weapon then light in your of hand when you are using TWF


The problem is this:
A bastard sword is an exotic one handed weapon.
If you do not have EWP bastard sword you can use it as a two-handed melee weapon.
If you have EWP you can use a large bastard sword as a two handed weapon.
If you do not have EWP you can't even wield a large bastard sword because it would be a handed category above two-handed which does not exist, and is therefore unable to be wielded.
So under no circumstances can you wield a large bastard sword in one hand, unless you the wielding creature are also large size category.

As well, the functionality of reducing penalties for using weapons other than light weapons while two weapon fighting only functions when you use a weapon meant for the same size category as the wielder.

Effortless Lace wrote:

This elegant silk ribbon gleams like mithral and feels like polished steel.

When wrapped around the grip of a one-handed piercing or slashing melee weapon for 24 hours, the ribbon's magic permanently merges with the weapon, reducing the attack roll penalty incurred by a wielder who is smaller than the weapon's intended wielder by 2 (to a minimum penalty of 0).

If the weapon is wielded by a creature whose size matches that of the weapon's intended wielder, the weapon is treated as a light melee weapon when determining whether it can be used with Weapon Finesse, as well as with any feat, spell, or special weapon ability that can be used in conjunction with light weapons.

Once an effortless lace's abilities have been conveyed to a weapon, the ribbon must remain attached to the weapon or its effects end immediately, its magic is permanently lost, and it is reduced to worthless cloth. Effects that would dispel the magic of the weapon or cause the weapon to gain the broken condition (such as sundering) destroy the ribbon as well.

Basically, it either reduces the penalties for fighting with an oversized weapon or allows you to wield one-handed weapons as though they were light weapons for the purposes of TWF. It's either or, but not both.


Claxon wrote:


Basically, it either reduces the penalties for fighting with an oversized weapon or allows you to wield one-handed weapons as though they were light weapons for the purposes of TWF. It's either or, but...

Unless you are a Titan Mauler.


Yes, a titan mauler/fighter could be it but the OP did not state anything about Titan Maulers. If they are playing one, that would change the situation.

If the OP were playing a titan mauler, the ribbon would reduce the penalty to wielding for an oversized weapon. It would not reduce the penalty for attacking with a weapon that was not a light weapon, because the weapon is not correctly sized for the wielder.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Effortless Lace and Large bastard Sword All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.