Multiple Attacks listed in Stat Blocks - how to interpret Kanjougas in TDD


Rules Questions


I thought I understood this one - but I am running THe Dragon's Demand and Kanjougas has this listed in his stat block under offense"

Melee flurry of blows +17/+17/+12 (1d8+9), +1 slam +18(1d8+9 plus mummy rot)

Now my understanding is that creatures attacks as listed with either a comma or the word AND means as part of a full round they get all of the listed attacks at the listed attack bonus

I am pretty sure that Kanjougas only gets either his flurry of blows or his slam? Is there any clear \standard for how multiple attacks like this should be read in the stat block or is this one a unique case?

On another note - what does the '+1' in front of slam indicate given the attack is at +18??

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

Take a flurry or take the slam, pick one.

The +1 slam indicates the slam is a +1 magic weapon and his attack bonus is +18.


So is there a standard format for attacks? Shold there not be an 'OR' between the listed attacks? I know for other creatures with multiple attacks listed with just a comma between, they get all of these attacks in a full round?


I don't have this adventure and can't consult this statblock. Could it be he is using his natural slam attack as an additional attack as a secondary attack option? It would be at -5(or -2 if he had multiattack) from his straight raw calculated normal to hit bonus. His STR mod to damage would also be halved. If no to those, then it is probably as james above said, an either/or choice.

Grand Lodge

Actually, it is answered in his tactics:

Quote:
He uses his slam only when he can’t make a full attack, but generally does so with the aid of Vital Strike.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

Rathendar wrote:
Could it be he is using his natural slam attack as an additional attack as a secondary attack option?

No because you can't do that with a flurry.

Scarab Sages

Although he could have taken Feral Combat Training, and used his slam as part of the flurry of blows, giving three chances for Mummy Rot per full attack. That would have been really nasty.

Shadow Lodge

(@redward stay out)

Sorry for the necro, but quick rules question:

Kanjougas is a mummy monk

As noted above he can flurry or slam.

Does he only get the mummy rot on the slam?

The only other mummy monk I know is from Rise of the Runelords and it got mummy rot on its flurries.

Grand Lodge

IMO, since he is not using a weapon to attack with, but his unarmed strikes, it should, but the way it is written it does not.

Shadow Lodge

kinevon wrote:
IMO, since he is not using a weapon to attack with, but his unarmed strikes, it should, but the way it is written it does not.

Yeah, since I'm running it for PFS I have to run the statblock as written, but I thought it was weird how it was set up.

Grand Lodge

Sammy T wrote:
kinevon wrote:
IMO, since he is not using a weapon to attack with, but his unarmed strikes, it should, but the way it is written it does not.
Yeah, since I'm running it for PFS I have to run the statblock as written, but I thought it was weird how it was set up.

Oddly, if you are running just the sanctioned section as a PFS game, with PFS PCs, you are correct; but if you are running the whole thing in home game (campaign) mode, you can fix it.

Then again, in all the times I have done that section, (three, GM home game, player home game, and player PFS sanctioned game), it has never come up, since there are ways to avoid combat with him. If your players can even find him.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Multiple Attacks listed in Stat Blocks - how to interpret Kanjougas in TDD All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions