Telekinetic volley and proficiency - am I proficient or not?


Rules Questions


The spell telekinetic volley says in one line that one does not take a penalty to attack rolls for lacking proficiency then a few lines later says proficiency penalties apply normally. Which is it?

http://www.d20pfsrd.com/magic/all-spells/t/telekinetic-volley


Proficiency penalties for objects that are not ammo or improvised. If the object is one of those, use the special rules, otherwise use normal penalties. Such as thrown weapons.

Grand Lodge

Proficiency penalties apply, but you are considered to be proficient.

You do have range and improvised weapon penalties to worry about though.


Both of those answers sound correct, but it can't be both. Any support?


Quote:

The touched items levitate in your space. When you cast the spell and once per round thereafter, you can launch one item at a target of your choice as a standard action. The ranged attack is made as if you had thrown the item unless it's ammunition for a weapon, in which case the attack is made as if fired from a heavy crossbow (if a bolt), a halfling sling staff (if a sling bullet), a blowgun (if a blowgun dart), a composite longbow with a +2 Strength rating (if an arrow), an atlatl (if an atlatl dart), or a pistol (if a firearm bullet). A firearm pellet launched by the spell functions as a shuriken.

When you launch ammunition with this spell, you don't take a penalty on your attack rolls for lacking proficiency with the ammunition's weapon; you do, however, take the usual –4 penalty for throwing an improvised weapon if you launch an item not intended to be used as a weapon. The attack roll uses your caster level in place of your base attack bonus and your Intelligence or Charisma modifier (whichever is higher) in place of your Dexterity modifier. Range increment and proficiency penalties apply as normal. The attack has an effective Strength bonus, if applicable, equal to the higher of your Intelligence and Charisma modifiers. The spell is discharged when all touched items have been launched.

It only removes proficiency penalties for ammunition. It doesn't say anything about removing proficiency penalties for thrown weapons. Therefore, if you touch a thrown weapon, such as a dagger, it will apply the regular proficiency penalties of your character.


Thank you


James Gibbons wrote:

The spell telekinetic volley says in one line that one does not take a penalty to attack rolls for lacking proficiency then a few lines later says proficiency penalties apply normally. Which is it?

LINK

LINKIFIED FOR POSTERITY.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Telekinetic volley and proficiency - am I proficient or not? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions