| The World Shaper |
when a character does a ranged attack against a character that threatens them/is in melee range and the character has combat reflexes, does he provoke attack of opportunity once or does he provoke per attack roll?
Situation: player 1 shot player 2 3 times (not a surprise round ect ect none of that) and player 2 had combat reflexes/ enough of a dex modifier to do more than Aoo per round.
so the argument was that player 2 could get 3 attacks of opportunity per ranged attack roll that player 1 did. where as player 1 said he only got 1 no matter how many ranged attack rolls he did because he never left the threatened area against him.
The rules are pretty vague regarding this situation, that is unless player 2 is reading to much into them so which one is it? i went with saying only once cause i wasn't sure on my ruling.
| Gisher |
The rules aren't vague at all. Provocations due to making ranged attacks and provocations due to movement follow different rules.
Each ranged attack from the archer provokes an AoO. There is no rule limiting the melee character to one such AoO per round. The archer provoked three times, and assuming the melee character had at least a +3 dex bonus he could have made three AoO.
If the archer leaves a threatened square then he provokes an AoO (unless he uses a 5' step or the withdraw action). This type of provocation only provides the melee character with one AoO per round even if the archer leaves several threatened squares during his movement.
| Hendelbolaf |
Actually, the action tables do not say that you provoke attacks of opportunities if you make more than one ranged attack.
Actions in Combat
Standard Actions:
Attack (melee) - No attack of opportunity
Attack (ranged) - Attack of opportunity
Full Round Actions:
Full Attack - No attack of opportunity
So, according to the chart, if the archer fires one shot as an attack action as a standard action, then he provokes an attack of opportunity. If he makes multiple shots as a full attack as a full round action, then he does not provoke attacks of opportunities.
| Zenogu |
Attacks of Opportunity check every kind of action the PC/NPC makes in order to determine if an AoO will occur or not (much like Sneak Attack checks to see if each attack can apply for each given attack roll).
Each ranged attack roll made provokes an AoO, and assuming the attacker has Combat Reflexes, he or she can take advantage of that.
One question I have to add to the topic is what happens when a ranged attack spell is cast in melee, assuming the attacker has Spellbreaker? Is that 2 AoOs, or 1?
| Gisher |
Actually, the action tables do not say that you provoke attacks of opportunities if you make more than one ranged attack.
Actions in Combat
Standard Actions:
Attack (melee) - No attack of opportunity
Attack (ranged) - Attack of opportunityFull Round Actions:
Full Attack - No attack of opportunitySo, according to the chart, if the archer fires one shot as an attack action as a standard action, then he provokes an attack of opportunity. If he makes multiple shots as a full attack as a full round action, then he does not provoke attacks of opportunities.
That is incorrect. I'll refer you to this thread for the references.
| Gisher |
Attacks of Opportunity check every kind of action the PC/NPC makes in order to determine if an AoO will occur or not (much like Sneak Attack checks to see if each attack can apply for each given attack roll).
Each ranged attack roll made provokes an AoO, and assuming the attacker has Combat Reflexes, he or she can take advantage of that.
One question I have to add to the topic is what happens when a ranged attack spell is cast in melee, assuming the attacker has Spellbreaker? Is that 2 AoOs, or 1?
Two. Here is the FAQ.