The Machine Revolution is upon us!


Rules Questions


...or maybe not.

Anyway, I was thinking about crafting Constructs (as you do) when it suddenly dawned to me: at no point do the rules explicitly state that the Constructs you craft will actually obey you! Oh sure, several have that in their description (like the Golems) but there doesn't seem to be a general rule to that effect.

I did notice that Animated Objects are called out as following commands... in the description of Clockwork Constructs, not in their own write-up. But do Iron Cobras follow instructions other than their "kill mission"? Or do Caryatid Columns take any orders? Scarecrows?

Is there a general rule that self-crafted Constructs will obey their creator (unless their description states otherwise)?


I recall, when reading up on constructs in general, that they obey the creator and any whom the creator appoints as a semi-coordinator.

I reckon it's an automatic assumption/logic that: you make it, you give the orders and it obeys.

It might differ, imo, if they are sentient enough to think for themselves, where upon they could question the use or relevancy of an order. Or if you failed a crucial enchantment, it might go berserk or flip you off.


The Fiend Fantastic wrote:
I recall, when reading up on constructs in general, that they obey the creator and any whom the creator appoints as a semi-coordinator.

You wouldn't happen to recall where you read that, would you? I always just took it as a given. But there are additional issues: many Constructs don't have a listed language for instance. So if you can command them, how do you do it?

(Which is actually a problem in itself: Unseen Servants have the same conundrum.)

Silver Crusade Contributor

4 people marked this as a favorite.

Oh, don't worry about it. They'll obey you.

Trust them.


VRMH, somewhere on d20pfsrd.
I reckon under the topic of create a construct.

They also spoke at least one, if not all, language(s) their creator speaks.


Bestiary 1 p.158 wrote:
Being mindless, golems do nothing without orders from their creators. They follow instructions explicitly and are incapable of complex strategy or tactics. A golem’s creator can command it if the golem is within 60 feet and can see and hear its creator. If uncommanded, a golem usually follows its last instruction to the best of its ability, though if attacked it returns the attack. The creator can give the golem a simple command to govern its actions in his absence, or can order the golem to obey the commands of another, but the golem’s creator can always resume control by commanding the golem to obey him alone.

While this is golem specific, the logic about mindless constructs not doing anything under their own free will could certainly carry over to most other mindless constructs.

Constructs with intelligence of course are another matter entirely of course, but they were always the ones to be careful of anyway.

Liberty's Edge

I assume that for most construct you "program" them when you craft them and that programming include "follow my orders", probably with some keyword used to recognize orders from casual conversation and/or orders given to a different construct.

I think of mindless constructs as voice activated robots.

"Terminator #1, kill him!" <finger pointing to him> and the construct can see you and the target work.
"Terminator #1, kill the one in red" work if only 1 creature wear red items, if more than one wear red the construct probably will attack the nearest one.
"Protect me!" probably wouldn't. It don't specify who should do that and the "protect" action is fairly unclear. It should kill the one attacking its owner? Interpose itself between the owner and the attacker? Pick its owner up and run to safety?

There are exception. if you have a shield guardian "Guard" will be a valid command as the guardian has the Guard ability

PRD wrote:


Guard (Ex) If ordered to do so, a shield guardian moves to defend the wearer of its amulet. All attacks against the amulet wearer take a –2 penalty when the shield guardian is adjacent to its master.

so the command is part of its basic programming.

All that is a personal interpretation based on several editions fo teh rules, not hard rules in the current rule set.


Diego Rossi wrote:
All that is a personal interpretation based on several editions fo teh rules, not hard rules in the current rule set.

And it's a logical interpretation, as apparently we've all been using it all this time. But it's a pity there are no actual rules, because now it's impossible to know whether control over an automaton can be wrested from their creator. Is the link magical? Is it a supernatural connection? Can I disguise myself as the machine builder, and boss her creations around?


There's a sorcerer's bloodline, where enchantment spells (charm/dominate anyone?) works on constructs.

Impossible bloodline, i think it was.

Silver Crusade Contributor

Correct.


I played one, though we didn't get higher than lvl 3....GM irl stuff.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / The Machine Revolution is upon us! All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions