Question on brawler flurry


Rules Questions

Liberty's Edge

Ok so a buddy and I are discussing brawler's flurry and we are at odds with how it works. Because you of the second paragraph I have the impression that you can use a two handed weapon and get a unarmed strike in a full round action.

If this is wrong can someone please explain to me why?


you can do any of your attacks with any weapon. but you only get 1xStr on the two handed.
So you could do any of these at lv2
Unarmed, Unarmed
Two handed, Two handed
Two handed, Unarmed
Unarmed, Two handed

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

I don't see anything in Brawler's Flurry that allows you to make a Two Handed Weapon attack in the same round you make an unarmed strike attack? That is using two different off-hand weapons in the same round.


brawler wrote:
When doing so, a brawler has the Two-Weapon Fighting feat when attacking with any combination of unarmed strikes, weapons from the close fighter weapon group, or weapons with the "monk"

So if your two handed weapon is in the close weapon group or a monk weapon you can use your flurry to make any combinations of your attacks. Refer back to my other post to see all the legal combinations at lv2.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

Chess Pwn wrote:
So if your two handed weapon is in the close weapon group or a monk weapon you can use your flurry to make any combinations of your attacks.

Your quote doesn't say "and this means you can make a Two Handed weapon attack and an Unarmed Strike attack" so what other than that quote exempts you from the restrictions of making a Two Handed Weapon attack and a Unarmed Strike attack in the same round?


summary of James Risner wrote:
Besides the rule that exempts you from the restriction, what exempts you from the restriction?

FLURRY can be made with ANY COMBINATION of UNARMED STRIKES (here's where we know we can make an attack with unarmed strike for ANY of the attacks), WEAPONS from the CLOSE FIGHTER WEAPON GROUP, or WEAPONS with the "MONK" special Feature. She does not need to use two different weapons to use this ability.

A brawler applies her full Strength modifier to her damage rolls for all attacks made with brawler's flurry, whether the attacks are made with an off-hand weapon or a weapon wielded in both hands.

So if you use a MONK weapon or a CLOSE weapon and wield it in two hands (Either a 1-handed in two hands or a 2-handed in two hands) you can make all your attacks with that weapon wielded in both hands. So you could flurry and make both attacks with a weapon wielded in two hands. And we also know that the flurry can use ANY COMBINATIONS of legal flurry choices, which Unarmed Strike is. Thus you can use your weapon wielded in two hands for one attack in the flurry, and then use unarmed strike for the second attack in the flurry.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Question on brawler flurry All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions