Unlike other cards that go on the location, Bilious Bottle is displayed next to your location. I'm at the location and there are no cards left in the deck. Can I attempt the close? Or do I have to sit here taking damage until I roll a 4?
2 people marked this as a favorite.
|
Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Maps, PF Special Edition, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
You can attempt to close a location while the bottle is displayed if there are 0 cards in the location deck. Attempting to close a 0-card deck does not count as an exploration, so it does not require you to roll a d4 for Bilious Bottle either. The bottle is not banished when the location is closed, but will be banished at the end of the scenario.
skizzerz is correct. Having the bottle displayed next to the location does not affect your ability to close it. Nor does it activate when you attempt the close. Just on explorations.
skizzerz wrote: The bottle is not banished when the location is closed, but will be banished at the end of the scenario. Just a minor clarification: The Bilious Bottle won't be banished at the end of the scenario. It will simply be put back in the box. It has the Elite trait, so in adventure 5 that will matter. No getting rid of it that easily.
Hawkmoon269 wrote: skizzerz wrote: The bottle is not banished when the location is closed, but will be banished at the end of the scenario. Just a minor clarification: The Bilious Bottle won't be banished at the end of the scenario. It will simply be put back in the box. It has the Elite trait, so in adventure 5 that will matter. No getting rid of it that easily. Hum... Banish is same as back in box no?
Removed from game is another matter though.
You can only remove Basic and Elite cards that are banished. You can't remove them if they are simply put back in the box, but not technically banished.
An example is leftover cards after a scenario. Any cards remaining in location decks, or extra cards that your party acquired, are put in the box, not banished. It matters for purposes of the Basic and Elite traits.
Also matters for cohorts :)
Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Maps, PF Special Edition, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Hawkmoon269 wrote: skizzerz wrote: The bottle is not banished when the location is closed, but will be banished at the end of the scenario. Just a minor clarification: The Bilious Bottle won't be banished at the end of the scenario. It will simply be put back in the box. It has the Elite trait, so in adventure 5 that will matter. No getting rid of it that easily. True, fair enough. Doesn't impact me since I purged all the Elites at the beginning of AD5 anyway for added challenge (I find the bottle more annoying than challenging, its power level pales in comparison to a number of other non-Elite barriers). But it is correct that the only way to actually banish it is to roll a 4.
skizzerz wrote: I find the bottle more annoying than challenging... But it is correct that the only way to actually banish it is to roll a 4. ... or to close its location before it's ever encountered. Just sayin' :)
Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Maps, PF Special Edition, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Longshot11 wrote: skizzerz wrote: I find the bottle more annoying than challenging... But it is correct that the only way to actually banish it is to roll a 4. ... or to close its location before it's ever encountered. Just sayin' :) I'm really not on a roll this week, am I? :P
Hawkmoon269 wrote: You can only remove Basic and Elite cards that are banished. You can't remove them if they are simply put back in the box, but not technically banished. Oops that exactly what I meant... And totally failed to write it correctly :-)
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion
|