How many focus powers does an occultist get?


Rules Questions

Scarab Sages

At level one, do they get one focus power from each implement? Or, is it one total, selected from either of their implements?

I think it is the latter, but do not want to underpower a PC.


Just the one selected from one of their Implement schools.

The Exchange

They get the Base focus power from each implement, and then select one more Power from one of their available schools. So a level 1 with Transmutation and Divination would have both Base powers: Legacy Weapon and Sudden Insight. Then she selects one and only one additional power from one of those schools, for a grand total of 3 (2 Base + 1 additional).


Vanlo Dariav wrote:
They get the Base focus power from each implement, and then select one more Power from one of their available schools. So a level 1 with Transmutation and Divination would have both Base powers: Legacy Weapon and Sudden Insight. Then she selects one and only one additional power from one of those schools, for a grand total of 3 (2 Base + 1 additional).

Yes, they get both Base Focus Powers in addition to the one Focus Power. I assumed, possibly incorrectly, that we were only talking about the Focus Power that isn't a Base Focus Power. I hope this choice of wording isn't going to cause as much confusion as Race Traits and Racial Traits.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / How many focus powers does an occultist get? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions