Chosen One Oath Against Fiends Paladin?


Rules Questions

Shadow Lodge

To the point the Chosen One archetype has no bound. The Oath Against Fiends archetype changes but does not replace the Divine Bond. Is it possible to take these two archetypes together?


No.

Two archetypes that both alter or replace the same class feature cannot be taken together.

Edit: are your sure you mean O v Fiends? I don't see that one alters divine bond.

O v Wyrms does, and, for the sake of example, could not be taken with Chosen One.

Shadow Lodge

I guess I'm confused because O v Fiends' Holy Vessel changes the way the divine bond works. But it doesn't have a C in the table. The paladin does have to give up the 9th level mercy and it does have the language "This ability has no effect for a paladin whose divine bond is with a mount." at the end.

So I guess I would just count Holy Vessel as an ability that is separate from Divine Bond.


I'd say that Holy Vessel is separate, though this is an unsupported claim. Mechanically, it's just a wasted 9th level Mercy. The "This ability has no effect... blah" would imply that it would be the same for a paladin who takes something else as a bond, too, though I could see a strong argument made that it doesn't stack.

Funny thing, I just realized that this paladin can access Plane Shift at its lowest spell level, even lower than Cleric.

Shadow Lodge

Holy Vessel is definitely a strange ability. I'm thinking that the "this ability has no effect" language is the escape route for holy vessel to not have to change the Divine Bond. As oppose to Oath v Wyrms which gives you choices for either mount or weapon bond.

I believe clerics still get it 3 levels before the paladin has access to 4th level spells. But you can now put it in a wand!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Chosen One Oath Against Fiends Paladin? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions