Vital Strike and a standard action charge


Rules Questions


There are two ways to make your charge into a standard action (that I know of), the first is by being limited to a standard action and the second is once per day with the Crusader's Tabard.

I've seen a number of threads saying that the use of Vital Strike on a charge isn't possible because a charge is a special type of full round action, but what about when the charge becomes a standard action? Does this change anything?

I should note that I'm not looking for this to be a viable build, the possibility just got me curious.


Vital Strike is not a "standard action" that works with any "standard action attack". It is an "attack action" which is a specific type of "standard action". So, no, you cannot use Vital Strike on a standard action charge.

CRB p136 wrote:
Benefit: When you use the attack action, you can make one attack at your highest base attack bonus that deals additional damage.


A Vital Strike is its own type of action and cannot be combined with anything. You can no more vital strike as part of a standard action charge than you could cast a spell as part of that charge.


Here's a more elaborated version of the rule:

Melee Tactics Toolbox wrote:
Attack Action: An attack action is a type of standard action. Some combat options can modify only this specific sort of action. When taking an attack action, you can apply all appropriate options that modify an attack action. Thus, you can apply both Greater Weapon of the Chosen and Vital Strike to the same attack, as both modify your attack action. You can apply these to any combat option that takes the place of a melee attack made using an attack action (such as the trip combat maneuver), though options that increase damage don't cause attacks to deal damage if they wouldn't otherwise do so (such as Vital Strike and trip). You can't combine options that modify attack actions with standard actions that aren't attack actions, such as Cleave.

Scarab Sages

Dasrak wrote:
A Vital Strike is its own type of action and cannot be combined with anything. You can no more vital strike as part of a standard action charge than you could cast a spell as part of that charge.

This is a simplified understanding and not correct. A vital strike is not it's own type of action. A Vital Strike is an attack action. You can combine Vital Strike with any feat or ability that is an Attack Action, but not that is a separate type of standard action.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

Michael Grate wrote:
what about when the charge becomes a standard action? Does this change anything?

No, since you then have a choice between Charge as a Standard or Vital Strike as a Standard action attack action.


Dasrak wrote:
A Vital Strike is its own type of action and cannot be combined with anything. You can no more vital strike as part of a standard action charge than you could cast a spell as part of that charge.

Stop trying to help.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Vital Strike and a standard action charge All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.