Do multiple spells which provide touch attacks stack?


Rules Questions


A simple, but confusing to resolve question. Can a character cast Elemental Touch, then Calcific Touch and then Shocking Grasp to deliver all 3 spell effects in 1 touch attack on round 3?


Pathfinder Maps Subscriber

No, because if you cast a spell while holding the charge on a previous spell, that previous spell dissipates.

See Holding the Charge


Calcific Touch and Elemental Touch are spells which provide touch attacks, they are not touch attacks themselves like Shocking Grasp is, and thus, they are not affected by the "holding the charge" rule. That's why I mentioned Shocking Grasp as being cast last.


Pathfinder Maps Subscriber

I don't think they stack, but I don't have a good rules reference yet.
Basically, spells do what they say they do, but no more.

Spell A grants a touch attack
Spell B grants a touch attack

This does not mean that you can do both as the same action, unless the spells say so (the way the rules specifically say you can deliver a touch spell with an unarmed strike).


My character is a Dragon Disciple with 1 Bite and 2 Claw attacks. I am trying to figure out if I can cast the spells first and then use Calcific Touch + Shocking Grasp with the Bite and Elemental Touch with a Claw (or all 3 spells with a single Bite for a really nasty "Alpha strike").


Jason Nelson, who wrote calcific touch, mentions you are still holding the charge with it. Linky. He specifically calls out casting calcific touch/shocking grasp together as impossible due to the holding the charge rules. The same rules don't apply to elemental touch though.

Thus, slimgauge's assertion is correct - you can't cast a spell while using calcific touch or you lose the charge.

*edit*

changed to reflect that elemental touch does indeed work with other touch attacks.


Lithras, Calcific Touch and Shocking Grasp are both touch spells (have a target of "Touch"), if you cast another spell while you have a held touch spell then it voids the touch spell. You cannot have both active at the same time.

Elemental Touch is not a touch spell, you can cast that first and then cast either Calcific Touch or Shocking Grasp and the effects of both spells (Elemental Touch and one of the other two) will be in effect.

Blakmane, Elemental Touch is not a touch spell, it has a target of "You".


I suppose the confusion with calcific touch was that "1 creature/level", it was translated by many that the caster actually bestows them the ability to use a touch attack :P It's all clear about it now.

Elemental Touch is a completely different story, however, it has a "Range personal", "Targets: you". RAW, it is a spell providing a touch attack, and not a touch attack spell by itself (Jason Nelson mentions it as being "the oddball" in your link).


Gauss wrote:

Lithras, Calcific Touch and Shocking Grasp are both touch spells (have a target of "Touch"), if you cast another spell while you have a held touch spell then it voids the touch spell. You cannot have both active at the same time.

Elemental Touch is not a touch spell, you can cast that first and then cast either Calcific Touch or Shocking Grasp and the effects of both spells (Elemental Touch and one of the other two) will be in effect.

Blakmane, Elemental Touch is not a touch spell, it has a target of "You".

Yep you're correct. Reading elemental touch, it simply adds to your damage (or gives you a new attack) rather than being a held charge rider. I'll edit my post to reflect this.


Gauss wrote his reply while I was writing mine, exactly what I thought :) So, elemental touch + either of the others will do the trick 3:) Are you guys aware of any additional spells to add to the combo for a devastating "alpha" bite?


Lithras wrote:
Gauss wrote his reply while I was writing mine, exactly what I thought :) So, elemental touch + either of the others will do the trick 3:) Are you guys aware of any additional spells to add to the combo for a devastating "alpha" bite?

Elemental touch doesn't work with bite: "You also deal energy damage and the related special effect when you attack with your hands using an unarmed strike, a single claw, or a single slam attack. "

So I guess, alpha claw?


Alpha Claw will do :P


Get a Spell Storing Amulet of Mighty Fists and load it with another shocking grasp. Or Calcific Touch.


I have done so already. And a spell storing ceremonial silken armor for the same purpose (for when I get hit) ;)


Nice! We fellow DDs must stick together.

Grand Lodge

Chill touch gives you multiple touches. Not as much for each, but they each also have a chance of doing a point of Strength damage, so that adds up. Three attacks a turn gives a good chance, if your DC is good, of giving your target a -1 to hit and damage, cumulative, each turn.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Do multiple spells which provide touch attacks stack? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions