Standard action definition


Rules Questions

Scarab Sages

Hi all,

My friend is insisting that just because an ability does not state the action type that it uses to start it's considered a free action, instead of a standard... The rest of our group is telling him that if it was another type of action besides standard that it would be clearly defined in the ability description... So, who's interpretation is correct?


Pathfinder Maps Subscriber

Use Special Ability states "Using a special ability is usually a standard action, but whether it is a standard action, a full-round action, or not an action at all is defined by the ability."

In addition,
For Spell-Like abilities "The casting time of a spell-like ability is 1 standard action, unless the ability description notes otherwise."
For Supernatural abilities "Using a supernatural ability is usually a standard action (unless defined otherwise by the ability's description)."
For Extraordinary abilities "Using an extraordinary ability is usually not an action because most extraordinary abilities automatically happen in a reactive fashion. Those extraordinary abilities that are actions are usually standard actions that cannot be disrupted, do not require concentration, and do not provoke attacks of opportunity."

Scarab Sages

Cool, That's what I thought. Thanks

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Standard action definition All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions