Phantom bared by protection from evil / good / .. spells?


Rules Questions

Grand Lodge

13 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

In the Phantom class feature section it says:

Quote:
A fully manifested phantom is treated as a summoned creature from the Ethereal Plane, except it is not sent back to the Ethereal Plane until it is reduced to a negative amount of hit points equal to or greater than its Constitution score.

The Eidolon class feature it has:

Quote:
An eidolon is treated as a summoned creature, except it is not sent back to its home plane until reduced to a number of negative hit points equal to or greater than its Constitution score. In addition, due to its tie to its summoner, an eidolon can touch and attack creatures warded by protection from evil and similar effects that prevent contact with summoned creatures

I can't find that caveat or anything similar for the Phantom. Is it intended for the Phantom to be nullified by a level 1 spell?


Kintrik wrote:

In the Phantom class feature section it says:

Quote:
A fully manifested phantom is treated as a summoned creature from the Ethereal Plane, except it is not sent back to the Ethereal Plane until it is reduced to a negative amount of hit points equal to or greater than its Constitution score.

The Eidolon class feature it has:

Quote:
An eidolon is treated as a summoned creature, except it is not sent back to its home plane until reduced to a number of negative hit points equal to or greater than its Constitution score. In addition, due to its tie to its summoner, an eidolon can touch and attack creatures warded by protection from evil and similar effects that prevent contact with summoned creatures

I can't find that caveat or anything similar for the Phantom. Is it intended for the Phantom to be nullified by a level 1 spell?

Not if you're true neutral.

It's probably a mistake on Paizo's part. Maybe you FAQ it?

Shadow Lodge

Yeah, that looks like an oversight to me.

Grand Lodge

It is pretty clear, I noticed it on my first full read through of the class. So I assumed it was intended and their had to be something else in the class to make it actually work, but nope their isn't.

sucks having a 25gp scroll turn you into 1/2 a class.

Grand Lodge

My GM tends to run things RAW, any chance someone from Paizo can chime in if this was a mistake or intended?


Kintrik wrote:

It is pretty clear, I noticed it on my first full read through of the class. So I assumed it was intended and their had to be something else in the class to make it actually work, but nope their isn't.

sucks having a 25gp scroll turn you into 1/2 a class.

To be fair, you were only 2/3 a summoner to begin with.

Grand Lodge

My Self wrote:


To be fair, you were only 2/3 a summoner to begin with.

That isn't the point of the thread. I feel the class is mostly ok besides the fact that the main function of the class doesn't work as written because of this limitation

Grand Lodge

Still hoping for some clarification

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Phantom bared by protection from evil / good / .. spells? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions