Ring of Spell Knowledge and Arcanist


Rules Questions


Can an Arcanist teach a spell she observes into a Ring of Spell Knowledge, then scribe the spell into her spellbook?

Since for an arcanist, effects that modify Spells Known instead affect Spells Prepared, so any spell in the Ring should be treated as one she has prepared.
Prepared spells can be scribed into a spellbook with the effect of wiping the spell from her mind as if she cast it, which means she just loses a spell slot.
So this should, work, right?

Can it then be used to effectively scribe spells from scrolls and still keep the scroll?

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Rulebook Subscriber
Oneris wrote:
Since for an arcanist, effects that modify Spells Known instead affect Spells Prepared, so any spell in the Ring should be treated as one she has prepared.

Where are you getting this from?


Some Other Guy wrote:
Oneris wrote:
Since for an arcanist, effects that modify Spells Known instead affect Spells Prepared, so any spell in the Ring should be treated as one she has prepared.
Where are you getting this from?

Here, bottom of 4th paragraph

Quote:
Feats and other effects that modify the number of spells known by a spellcaster instead affect the number of spells an arcanist can prepare.


Pathfinder Maps, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

A better question is can an Arcanist use the item in the first place.

The ring is restricted to spontaneous arcane casters. It is not clear to me if the Arcanist counts as a prepared caster, spontaneous caster, or both.

Dark Archive

They are both, I don't know if it is written anywhere but mechanically they are both.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Ring of Spell Knowledge and Arcanist All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions