acrobatics & Bladed Dash


Rules Questions


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Rulebook Subscriber

Can a PC use Bladed Dash & Acrobatics together. What I mean is, can the PC move through an occupied square of a monster, thereby overcoming the need for an acrobatics check since the spell states it provokes no AoO? There is a few ways I have thought of adjudicating the spell since its a 2nd lvl spell but wanted some feedback.

Grand Lodge

No... it's the spell that moves you, not you moving yourself. You can choose one or the other.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Rulebook Subscriber
LazarX wrote:
No... it's the spell that moves you, not you moving yourself. You can choose one or the other.

So the PC has to move in a straight line with no obstructions? what about through a friendly square?

I ruled that the spell does not trump the need for a skill check, but on a personal level , it seems like a lvl 2 spell should not be that powerful if it allowed the PC to go through occupied squares.


Deuce wrote:
LazarX wrote:
No... it's the spell that moves you, not you moving yourself. You can choose one or the other.

So the PC has to move in a straight line with no obstructions? what about through a friendly square?

I ruled that the spell does not trump the need for a skill check, but on a personal level , it seems like a lvl 2 spell should not be that powerful if it allowed the PC to go through occupied squares.

I think the 'straight line' is the only limiting factor, but yes, it's a great spell, AND compatible with spell combat, making it an arcane pool fueled pounce or spring attack...

You can move through a friend's space unless charging, so you can do it with this spell. You can move past enemies without needing to roll acrobatics or even fear aoo's, because this spell wards you against them.

Interestingly, moving through enemy spaces is another thing, I guess. Bladed Dash protects you against attacks of opportunity during your move, so you do not need to roll Acrobatics for that. But to move through enemy spaces (something the spell does not mention anything about), you must make an Acrobatics check (DC 5 + CMD), so I think you still need to do that if you want to Bladed Dash through an enemy-occupied space.


I love the fact that this was made for Bard and Magus only! Very nice.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / acrobatics & Bladed Dash All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions