Holy Vindicator: Bloodfire / Bloodrain


Rules Questions


I wonder if these two class features stack. Bloodrain says that:

Bloodrain:
At 9th level, while his stigmata are bleeding, the vindicator’s harmful channeled energy is accompanied by a burst of sacred or profane liquid energy, increasing the damage by 1d6. Creatures failing their saves against the channeled energy become sickened and take 1d6 points of bleed damage each round. Affected creatures can attempt a new save every round to end the sickened and bleed effects.

While Channel Smite says:

Channel smite:
Before you make a melee attack roll, you can choose to spend one use of your channel energy ability as a swift action. If you channel positive energy and you hit an undead creature, that creature takes an amount of additional damage equal to the damage dealt by your channel positive energy ability. If you channel negative energy and you hit a living creature, that creature takes an amount of additional damage equal to the damage dealt by your channel negative energy ability. Your target can make a Will save, as normal, to halve this additional damage. If your attack misses, the channel energy ability is still expended with no effect.

Channel smite adds an amount of aditional damage to one melee strike, equal to the damage dealt by my channel energy. And my Channel energy is affected by Bloodrain. So it should add right?

Now, the Bloodfire says:

Blood fire:
At 5th level, while a vindicator’s stigmata are bleeding, his blood runs down his weapons like sacred or profane liquid energy; when he uses Channel Smite, the damage increases by 1d6, and if the target fails its save, it is sickened and takes 1d6 points of bleed damage each round on its turn. The target can attempt a new save every round to end the sickened and bleed effects.

This make my channel smite deal an aditional 1d6.

Is it ok if I assume that these two class features stack for the porpose of channel smiting? Do I get and extra 2d6 out of them?


no, because on channel smite you never channel energy so bloodrain doesn't activate.

Shadow Lodge

Chess Pwn is correct. Channel Smite expends a use of channel energy, and deals damage equal to channel energy, but it is not actually channel energy.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Holy Vindicator: Bloodfire / Bloodrain All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions