
Nadlor |

The merciful weapon enchantment states that, on command, the weapon suppresses the merciful ability until told to resume it. If I have claw/claw/bite natural attacks and an merciful amulet of mighty fists, can I activate/deactivate the merciful ability in the amulet at any point between my attacks as a free action?
Or do I need to use swift/move/standard actions to do so?

Nadlor |

But that's for items activated by command words, right? I was thinking an amulet of mighty fists falls into the use-activated category (because it's something a character wears). Regarding use-activated items, the rules say "However, some items made for wearing must still be activated. Although this activation sometimes requires a command word (see above), usually it means mentally willing the activation. The description of an item states whether a command word is needed in such a case."
Neither the description of the amulet of mighty fists nor the description of the merciful weapon ability state anything about needing a commando word. Is "mentally willing the activation" also supposed to be a standard action?

Skylancer4 |

But that's for items activated by command words, right? I was thinking an amulet of mighty fists falls into the use-activated category (because it's something a character wears). Regarding use-activated items, the rules say "However, some items made for wearing must still be activated. Although this activation sometimes requires a command word (see above), usually it means mentally willing the activation. The description of an item states whether a command word is needed in such a case."
Neither the description of the amulet of mighty fists nor the description of the merciful weapon ability state anything about needing a commando word. Is "mentally willing the activation" also supposed to be a standard action?
Activating a Flaming weapon takes a standard action (as well as most of the elemental/extra damage types). A weapon may be use activated, extra abilities don't automatically fall under that umbrella.
When the rules are silent on activation, it defaults to standard action as per the magic item rules.