Ring of Spell Storing Uses Per Day


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

So, I've done a lot of digging, and I can't find anything about this.

I know, generally, how a RoSS works. Wearer puts on the ring and can cast whatever given spell is stored within the ring at the caster level that is minimum to the spell being cast. NOW, I wonder...how many times can that spell be cast? Is it like knowing a spell? Or, is it more like the spell inside is there one time, and, once the spell is cast, the spell is gone and the ring has to be refilled...?

The raw text isn't exactly clear on this point, and I haven't been able to find any sort of consensus. To be honest, the only word I've found on the RoSS is that any wearer can use it - even if it's an arcane caster using a RoSS with divine magic in it.

Some help on this would be fantastic. I'm trying to build a lvl 20 gestalt character (for the s&&&s and giggles), and, if a RoSS is a bit more....permanent than *POOF* "Spell's gone now!", I have a fiendishly diabolical plan. XD

Grand Lodge

You can reuse the ring indefinitely, however any individual spell is expended after being cast from the ring.

Reasons:
Cost: it would be extremely more expensive otherwise.
Base: the base spell needed for creation, imbue with spell ability, works this way.
Balance: the spell doesn't require a material component as it is used when storing the spell. This leads to infinite money shenanigans with the ability to recast a spell infinitely without components if the spell isn't discharged.
Experience: it worked this way in previous editions.


Well, so much for my evil plan. Oh well. Thanks!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Ring of Spell Storing Uses Per Day All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions