Clarification about the Kineticist Archetype "Elemental Ascetic"'s Flurry of Blows


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Page 90, under Elemental Fury: "...When using the kinetic fist form infusion with a full attack, he can make a flurry of blows as the monk class feature."

I just want to confirm that this is intended to refer to the Monk class feature that results in an extra attack by mimicking Two-Weapon Fighting (and thus incuring a -2 to hit on all attacks), and not the Unchained Monk class feature that simply grants an extra attack at no penalty to hit.


I'd assume it uses whichever your game is using.


The game I'm playing in is generally PFS, so I don't have the luxury of asking my GM for a ruling unfortunately.

I think it would be great if it was Unchained Monk, as that version of Flurry feels better to use in every situation, but I will accept it if the official word is that the wording of Monk just means base Monk, and its not mistake.


i think unless the word unchained is there the original is used


I assume that is correct as well, but with Occult Adventures being released not too long after Pathfinder Unchained, I wanted to make sure that was intentional and not an oversight.


I'd say monk is monk and unchained monk is unchained monk. So it's have to say 'make a flurry of blows as the unchained monk class feature' for it to use the unchained monk's flurry.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Clarification about the Kineticist Archetype "Elemental Ascetic"'s Flurry of Blows All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.