DubiousYak
|
If you use your caster level when using staves, do feats like Spell Specialization change the effective caster level?
I can't see a reason why not, so I thought you guys might be able to come up with something.
Using Staves: Staves use the wielder’s ability score and relevant feats to set the DC for saves against their spells. Unlike with other sorts of magic items, the wielder can use his caster level when activating the power of the staff if it’s higher than the caster level of the staff. This means that staves are far more potent in the hands of a powerful spellcaster. Because they use the wielder’s ability score to set the save DC for the spells, spells from a staff are often harder to resist than those from other magic items, which use the minimum ability score required to cast the spell. Not only are aspects of the spell dependent on caster level (range, duration, and so on) potentially higher, but spells from a staff are also harder to dispel and have a better chance of overcoming spell resistance.
Benefit: Select one spell of a school for which you have taken the Spell Focus feat. Treat your caster level as being two higher for all level-variable effects of the spell.
The Great Rinaldo!
|
Unlike with other sorts of magic items, the wielder can use his caster level when activating the power of the staff if it’s higher than the caster level of the staff.
I don't know, if you have a feat that raises your caster level when casting a particular spell, I think it should apply when casting it from a staff. In absence of strong evidence or developer input to the contrary, that is how I would handle it.
| My Self |
I'd agree with Rinaldo on the interpretation. If you caster level, after being modified by Spell Specialization, is higher than the staff's caster level, then yes, it should apply. If it is not, then no, it should not apply.
Plus, staffs aren't easily reusable (can only recharge 1 charge/day), so you might as well.
| Gauss |
What more evidence do you require? It specifically calls out using a feat to bump up the Spell DC.
It does not specifically state you can use any spell related feat as normal.
Where does it stop? Do you want to apply metamagic feats to spells in staves?
Spells in a 'can' cannot be normally affected by any of the spellcasters normal abilities. There are three specific exceptions here.
1) The spellcaster's ability scores can be applied to the DC's of the spell.
2) Feats that apply to spell DCs can be applied to the spells of a staff.
3) That the spellcaster may use his caster level. What it does not state is that you may also apply feats or abilites that modify caster level.
While your interpretation is a great houserule, and one I would probably use, it is not within the rules.
Berti Blackfoot
|
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
I says "use your caster level" that is what they are looking at.
When casting that spell, your caster level is higher.
The feat modifies your caster level, it does not modify the spell like a metamagic feat would.
If you have the correct ioun stone that raises your caster level for all spells, that should be allowed too.
| James Gibbons |
If you have the Feat your caster level just is two higher. If this Feat doesn't work because it doesn't call it out specifically than headbands of mental ability score would not workwork to alter ones ability score for the staff because it doesn't say 'and items that alter the wielder's ability modifyer'
But the headband does work, I don't think anyone would argue otherwise.
| Ravingdork |
Ravingdork wrote:If the rules are unwritten, how can you say that you have them?This totally works.
Last thing we need are more unwritten rules saying otherwise...
Huh? When did I say I have anything?