Named Bullet and Melee Thrown Weapons


Rules Questions


Named bullet has a peculiar interaction with melee thrown weapons.

Named Bullet:

NAMED BULLET
School divination; Level inquisitor 4, ranger 3, sorcerer/wizard 4, witch 4
Casting Time 1 standard action
Components V, S, M/DF (an item from the selected creature or creature type)
Range touch
Target one piece of ammunition or one thrown weapon
Duration 10 minutes/level or until discharged
Saving Throw Will negates (harmless, object); Spell Resistance yes (harmless, object)
You imbue the target with deadly accuracy against a selected creature type (and subtype for humanoids or outsiders) or a specific creature you know and can name. When used against the selected creature, the ammunition never misfires and is unaffected by concealment (but not total concealment), and at a range of 30 feet or less, the attack targets the selected creature's touch AC. When the target hits the selected creature, you must overcome that creature's spell resistance, or this spell has no effect. A normal hit scored using the target against the selected creature is considered to be a critical threat and deals 1 extra point of damage per caster level (maximum 20), which is not multiplied on a critical hit. A natural critical hit deals the same extra damage, but that damage is multiplied due to the critical.

Once the target is used to attack the selected creature, successfully or not, this spell is discharged.

Thrown Weapons:
Thrown Weapons: Daggers, clubs, shortspears, spears, darts, javelins, throwing axes, light hammers, tridents, shuriken, and nets are thrown weapons.

Topic 1: Named Bullet can be used on thrown weapons. Daggers, clubs, spears, and many other melee weapons are thrown weapons.
Question 1: Can Named Bullet in fact be used on melee weapons that are thrown weapons?

Topic 2: Named Bullet never says anywhere that it only has an effect on ranged attacks. In fact, several times it emphasizes that the weapon must simply be used to attack and hit the selected creature.
Question 2: If the answer to Question 1 is yes, does Named Bullet have any effect on melee attacks made on the selected creature with the chosen melee thrown weapon?

Topic 3: Named Bullet states that using the weapon to attack the selected creature ends the effect.
Question 3: If the answer to Question 2 is no, does making a melee attack with the chosen thrown weapon against the selected creature still end the effect?


I hope I'm not guilty of too much thread necromancy as this is only a few months old but I'm pretty surprised this was never answered.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

A thrown weapon is a melee weapon used as a ranged attack (thrown).

So answering the OP questions:

1) Yes if thrown. No if used in melee.

2) No effect when used in melee.

3) Ambiguous, ask your GM.

You may also experience table variance on 1 and 2.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Named Bullet and Melee Thrown Weapons All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions