Cleric Travel Domain and Dimensional hop.


Rules Questions


Dimensional Hop (Sp): At 8th level, you can teleport up to 10 feet per cleric level per day as a move action. This teleportation must be used in 5-foot increments and such movement does not provoke attacks of opportunity. You must have line of sight to your destination to use this ability. You can bring other willing creatures with you, but you must expend an equal amount of distance for each creature brought.

So a level 8 cleric could use this ability to teleport themselves 40 feet one round as a move and teleport again the next round for 40 feet as a move action and use up all of their teleport? Or is this a one use a day thing?

Liberty's Edge

You can do it more than 1/day, the total distance is a pool that you draw from.


Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

Further questions about this ability as it is part of a very good domain and is used often.

As a spell-like ability there it does trigger AoO's. To use defensively it seems like it should be a 4th level spell, as its closest to dimension door?

Also, it doesn't have the limitations of dimension door? As in the cleric still gets their standard action after hopping?


Spell-like abilities don't provoke, if I remember correctly.
They don't have somatic components, and that's what provokes.
Besides, it states that the movement doesn't provoke.

As the ability doesn't even mention dimension door, and states it's actually a move action, yes they do get the rest of their turn.

Dark Archive

The movement part does not provoke but the using a spell like ability does provoke. Same as casting spell but no verbal, somatic or material components used.


Exactly.

And it's the somatic parts that provoke.

A lot people don't realize this.

Edit: I was super wrong. I always thought that no somatic meant no Aoo. Interesting.


Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

The rules say in multiple places that spell like abilities provoke. This is stated in the combat chart and under spell like abilities.


I realize that.
For some reason I'd been running it as it didn't.

No idea why.
My bad!


Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

Heh, no problem. Spell like abilities are very odd and probably deserve more than a sentence of explanation.


As the ability states the movement doesn't provoke, I imagine that means this ability does not provoke attacks of opportunity.


edit: nvm

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Cleric Travel Domain and Dimensional hop. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions