Magic circle and big creatures


Rules Questions

RPG Superstar 2008 Top 32

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Magic circle against X is a 10 foot-radius circle. It can be focused inwards, pretty much always to support a planar binding, but could probably be used as a jail for an outsider in a pinch.

If you try to put a creature that is bigger than the circle in it, this happens

Magic Circle Against Evil wrote:
If a creature too large to fit into the spell's area is the subject of the spell, the spell acts as a normal protection from evil spell for that creature only.

I have no idea what that means. Is the creature mobile? Are other creatures warded against it, or it against them?

I also have no idea when it would apply - the circle is a 10-foot radius from the affected creature - how can it be bigger than itself? Is it possible to have made the diagram too small?


10ft radius used to mean that you took an intersection that the character had, and apply the radius from there.

Then we got an FAQ someplace, that said for example the radius extended from a creatures edge. This led to dragons being able to reasonable use Antimagic Field effectively, which led to rejoicing among some and much wailing and gnashing of teeth among others.

I suspect, if you can find that FAQ it would help shine light on this situation or help provide some precedent.

RPG Superstar 2008 Top 32

Trouble is the placement of that sentence implies it's related to the trap usage. I could totally understand what it meant if you were trying to cast magic circle as a defensive buff on a Colossal creature and having to pick a corner or something.


Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

I believe it refers to the 2D drawing you can augment the spell with has to be large enough for the summoned creature. It should also become the area of effect of the spell and not the creature.

RPG Superstar 2008 Top 32

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.
Queen Moragan wrote:
I believe it refers to the 2D drawing you can augment the spell with has to be large enough for the summoned creature. It should also become the area of effect of the spell and not the creature.

It would be nice if that were explicit. How big of a circle can I make? Can it be too big relative to the called creature? And that still doesn't answer what does it actually mean when I draw a 10-foot radius circle and then call a Gargantuan or Colossal creature.


Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

It might be a holdover from earlier editions.
I recall something about several different kinds of circles, pentagram, triangle & magic circle.
Different ways to inscribe, chalk, salt, sand, ash, blood, inlay.
Different diameters served primarily as cost multipliers.

Last time I did any was in Forgotten Realms, and prior to that they were their own class of scrolls.

The main 3 rules were (1) always do this in a clean room environment, and (2) always get the best inlaid silver circle you can't afford, and (3) never, never try to summon something bigger than your circle - you will die in a manner worse than horrible.:-)


Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

I think somewhere in 3.0 or 3.5, the wizard splat book might be where it's all described.

If not there, Stronghold Builders Guide.

1st ed DMG should be the origin.


Pathfinder Lost Omens Subscriber

pretty sure it means everything else is warded against the creature think of it as being a magic circle that just hovers 1 inch off of it's surface.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Magic circle and big creatures All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions