Mask of Giants with use magic device


Rules Questions


If i use UMD to emulate Wild Shape class feature i can use the benefits of Mask of Giants or i actualy need to "cast" Wild Shape ?

Grand Lodge

Leonardo Trancoso wrote:
If i use UMD to emulate Wild Shape class feature i can use the benefits of Mask of Giants or i actualy need to "cast" Wild Shape ?

Emulating a feature does not GIVE you the feature, so if the mask's power is to enhance wildshape, it's not going to do anything for you if you do not have the wildshape power.


Essentially UMD can fool a magic item into thinking you have that power. It doesn't fool the universe into thinking you have that power though, so you will stubbornly retain your same shape.


And If i use UMD to emulate Wild Shape class feature to Druid´s Vestment than use the Mask of Giantes, it is ok?


No - you still don't actually have wildshape, so you can't spend a standard action activating the supernatural ability called wildshape, even though you have an extra use for the ability you don't have and can transform into a giant when you activate the ability you can't activate because you don't have it.

Grand Lodge

Leonardo Trancoso wrote:
And If i use UMD to emulate Wild Shape class feature to Druid´s Vestment than use the Mask of Giantes, it is ok?

And the result will STILL be the same for the exact same reason I quoted earlier.


I disagre.

the item says
"When this item is worn by a character with the wild shape ability.." -> UMD allow me to use as a character with the wild shape ability

"...,the caracter can use that ability one additional time each day"
for the item effects i have the wild shape ability with 0 uses, so the item allow me use 0 + 1.

Grand Lodge

Leonardo Trancoso wrote:

I disagre.

the item says
"When this item is worn by a character with the wild shape ability.." -> UMD allow me to use as a character with the wild shape ability

"...,the caracter can use that ability one additional time each day"
for the item effects i have the wild shape ability with 0 uses, so the item allow me use 0 + 1.

WE've had tons of these discussions before. It's fully laid out in the FAQ regarding the skill.... go look it up. But in short "functioning as if you had the power/appendage/race/etc. does not give you that power/appendage/race/etc. It allows the item to activate. but given that the item's power is to augment a power you do not posess, the item's function is wasted to no effect.


Leonardo Trancoso wrote:

I disagre.

the item says
"When this item is worn by a character with the wild shape ability.." -> UMD allow me to use as a character with the wild shape ability

"...,the caracter can use that ability one additional time each day"
for the item effects i have the wild shape ability with 0 uses, so the item allow me use 0 + 1.

It's not 0+1, though. If you had Wild Shape with zero uses, that would work, but you don't have Wild Shape. There has been clarification on a few things that you can't add to what you don't have.


Leonardo Trancoso wrote:

I disagre.

the item says
"When this item is worn by a character with the wild shape ability.." -> UMD allow me to use as a character with the wild shape ability

"...,the caracter can use that ability one additional time each day"
for the item effects i have the wild shape ability with 0 uses, so the item allow me use 0 + 1.

UMD lets you convince the item you have the ability. You have fooled it, and so it is certainly happy to try to activate for you.

Despite your clever deception of the item though, you don't actually have the ability to wild shape. You are only faking it.

Grand Lodge

You've heard the arguments back and forth, now it's up to your GM.


Ok i understand now, but it is not so clear. thanks


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Try this analogy. I have a magical item that will, if I am carrying a bucket, make a cup of water appear in the bucket. I don't have a bucket, but I use UMD to emulate 'having a bucket.' When I activate my device how much water is in my bucket?

None. Because I still don't have a bucket.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Mask of Giants with use magic device All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions